Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Liam Milne
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I should have been more specific in my question. Clearly there is no objective/standard meaning to the bids in the auction above.

I am more interested in what bids should mean in a regular expert partnership. I would be interested in the ‘specific agreements that are all artificial’ mentioned above.
July 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, I would double 3.

Partner's double just showed values, I assume. I don't think partner would risk bidding 4 now with a slam try - it's probably not 100% forcing, although unlikely to end the auction.

I don't think a third double (of 4) should have been penalty from partner. It seems too important to be able to double for takeout, despite it being the third double. This means I am discounting the chance of partner bidding 4 with diamonds and a major - that hand would double for takeout.

Sounds like partner has single suit diamonds and a decent hand but not quite enough to insist on game. I have enough for game - if I thought partner was forcing I would perhaps bid 5, but that feels like an overbid if 4 is NF.
July 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How do you resolve the huge difference between 1 and 2 after bidding 3 with both?
June 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ben - how can opener have spades when they raise 2 to 3 in this auction? Wouldn't opener have already rebid 1?

Edit: just read your comment above. So with KQx x AKxxx Qxxx you would raise to 3 rather than bid 2NT?
June 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played an embarrassingly bad line at the table so you really don't want to! I'm convinced by winning in hand and playing a club, which one seems a little complicated but small to the 10 likely best.
June 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, I don't think so. Maybe if they thought that game was not on even opposite 22-23 balanced? Haven't really thought much about it.
June 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you for your detailed work on this Wayne.
June 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hans - Phil Markey isn't being serious with his comments above :) Normal Australian banter
June 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
OK Michael, fair point. It would be better to say either “the hand record reveals that 6 could make double-dummy” or “looking at the North-South reveals that 6 had play”. I won't dig my hole deeper by committing to either of those though! I think we can both agree that 5 is better than 3NT in any case.

Thanks for your other comments.
June 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You're right Peter - it is a great photo! Thanks for letting me know about your ownership of the photo, I wasn't sure who to credit it to. I have sent you a private message.
May 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not the wrong question for me, Eric. I think getting the 2 bid in is more important than worrying about the problems later. But I do still have to deal with the problems later; hence, the poll!
May 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No. But how would you bid it playing XYZ?
May 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi David, what's pfa?
May 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree that the conditions are not optimal. Sometimes that's the cards you get dealt.

You can fairly safely assume that 4 doesn't mean anything and that it covers partner's entire range.
May 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Patrick, the minimum for an opening bid in our system is 11 points and the maximum is about 21 points
April 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit - I don't know how I would rule, likely allowing the claim.

I think the difference in the two suit combinations is that Qx opposite AKJxxx is a common “play high from the short hand to unblock” holding, while Kxx opposite AJx is a common “free finesse” holding. I find it easier to imagine declarer misplaying the first than the second. I can't equate the two situations despite the structural similarities.
April 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Results:

As commented above, I played 10, spade to J (all follow), AK, third heart. East discarded a diamond as I ruffed low.

I made an error by not changing tack and considering the higher likelihood of both the failure of the dummy reversal and the squeeze chances. Luckily for me, when I played a diamond to the A and another heart, East ruffed rather than pitching their last diamond, so I could claim. East was 3=2=3=5.

Kit Woolsey got the whole thing right.
April 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Results: I bid 5 at the table.

Partner, with QT9x AK9xx Ax xx, made an admittedly poor bid of correcting to 5.

With JTxx on our right, 5 was still cold (hearts come in for no loser with Qxxx onside). 5 drifted two off in the delicate 5-3 fit with both reds breaking badly.

4X is complicated with lots of interesting trump situations but most likely down two.
April 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Results: I doubled, a bid which I am not proud of in retrospect. The poll is enough to convince me that I was on drugs.

4x made five in fair enough comfort. Four was always cold.

4 (likely undoubled) is down one. Lost the match on this board.
April 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Question: how was North supposed to bid?

After 5, assuming trumps break North can count 11 top tricks opposite ten high-card points. Seeing as South showed a better than minimum hand and has no kings, it doesn't seem unreasonable to play South for two queens which brings us to all the tricks.

e.g.
AQxxx
Qx
Qx
Axxx

How exactly was North supposed to involve South in the decision? Asking for kings isn't going to do much good!

FWIW I was South and I thought my role in getting to the poor grand was larger than my partner's.
April 8, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top