Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Larry Sealy
1 2 3 4 ... 28 29 30 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I went thru US Customs at Pearson returning from the 2011 NABC.
July 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think I subscribe to Edgar's philosophy (“takeout doubles are meant to be taken out”) more than most currently do.
July 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Supposedly is one from the Westin. It may not start until tomorrow.
July 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you're at or near the Westin, there's an Urban Fresh in the Harbour Square, about 2-3 short blocks west. Think Whole Foods or Fresh Market. May not have a large number of organic items.

Edit: it is called Harbour Front Centre, not Square and is at the east end of the Harbour area.
July 19
Larry Sealy edited this comment July 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yeah, I had forgotten that.
July 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I took a cab to the Westin: $57+tip. Would have preferred other options, but have had 2 neck surgeries in last 3 months, so wasn't up to public transportation.

BTW, the cabbie told me I was ~2 blocks from the convention center (at the Westin). I already knew it was farther. We located it today - GNT is in the North part. It's more like 0.6-0.7 mi.
July 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bernie, I think it is a suit where partner is known to be short, not just a “hope.” The example give by Josh is one example. I believe this is the way it was defined by the late, great Lou Bluhm. It was written up and named by Jim Foster in (I believe) the Dec 1993 Bridge World.

Sorry for repeating Frank Stewarts's description. I missed that.
July 14
Larry Sealy edited this comment July 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 is not strong enough
July 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
D10 has now been updated.
July 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Team Rosters at https://live.acbl.org/special-event-roster/2016-17GNT.”

This is not totally up-to-date. D10 has 5 players now on the Open Team.
July 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John was a real character. Many years ago John was kibitzing or otherwise not playing. There was a director call that went unanswered for awhile. John went over to the table and asked “may I help you?” The opponents asked if he was a director. “No,” he said, “but I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night.”

RIP.
June 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The BoG voted (in KC) to ask the BoD to revisit this.
June 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the strong hand “knew” they were playing Kokish, and hear 4N over 2, he now “knows” that partner 1) has forgotten their system or 2) he has forgotten their system. There is no possible hand (that I can imagine) that would bid 4N over a Kokish 2. Maybe someone can come up with one. The fact that both “agreed that 4N was KC for s” seems self-serving to me.

So, the strong hand clearly understood that the one of the two was wrong about playing Kokish. Bidding 6N is taking advantage of this UI and, IMHO, deserves a penalty.

Maybe the rules experts can suggest what penalty is proper. I would guess that the penalty itself, as well as whether or not to give a PP would depend on the experience level of the pair.
May 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The director should roll back to 3N. As far as number of tricks to be made in 3N, I don't know if it's reasonable to allow 3N to make or not. I would lean in that direction.

South should get written up.
May 25
Larry Sealy edited this comment May 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you can safely assume this partner does not have the ace.
May 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bergen raises comprise 2 hand types: limit raises and mixed raises. I'm assuming the describer meant mixed raise.
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When there are multiple reasons that can be ascribed to the BIT, I tend to decide in favor of the non-offending (or non-BIT, if you like) side. I would not allow the 6 bid and think the person that made the bid should be written up (player memo) and given a procedural penalty. But that's just me. I guess I'm a hard ass when it comes to ethics.

I'm not sure I'd call this a psyche, but that's for the rules experts to decide. I know you can't “psyche” an artificial opening bid, but don't know if this “qualifies as not qualifying” for an opening 3N.
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yeah, I tried that, also. A bug in the S/W, I guess. :)
April 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, there was no rush to bid 3N. I have a flexible hand, so should have started with Dbl.
April 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oh, OK.
April 28
1 2 3 4 ... 28 29 30 31
.

Bottom Home Top