Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Kostas Vovos
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have a pretty good idea of directoring. If there were screens on this board there would be nothing wrong but given that he heard his p's explanation there are now UI problems
March 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Now its a totally different hand because east knows he has misbid by his partner alert. Now you need to gallop players of the same caliber what do they bid and you adjust accordingly
March 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even if 2h was really minors and wrong-alerted they can't get an adjustment because 5d would always be reached
March 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There are no penalties because I am taking a guess that my partner forgot. If I got some UI then this is another case. But at any time I can make the decision to play partner having bid wrongly
March 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They would bid 5d over 4s as they actually did. What would you do if they told you they want to play in 2S?
March 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My bad I thought 3/5th so there would be a logical alternative
March 16, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit, if you overruff and throw him in with the spade doesn't he just cash his 4th heart? Updated he has only diamonds now… But maybe he was 4432 and the diamond finesse was on?
March 16, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is based on the level of the player,but we can't push it that far because if the director is called against you when you have J9xx opposite AQ10x we all know you would play the 9 but we all have our brain-stuck moments where we could have played the J
March 8, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As much as I agree with David Burn on “teaching” people to claim properly, the level of the player is of consideration. If a world class player calls me probably he has just misspoken. If on the other hand it's a relatively lower level player maybe he is apt to lead low from Qxx. You can make him play Sth inferior but this seems a bit stretched. Also as Michael Rosenberg said the tone and the tempo of his correction is the most precious information. It's the director's job to understand if the claim was just fast or the player had the intention of playing small.
March 8, 2019
Kostas Vovos edited this comment March 8, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
it is for take out
Feb. 4, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
xxx in spades 87x in diamonds
Dec. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do i play some form of GB2NT??
Oct. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
♠KQxx ♥Jxx ♦Jxx ♣xx is another hand he will pass
June 20, 2018
Kostas Vovos edited this comment June 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3spades is not forcing, and given that no other agreements exist i.e. 3diamonds 18-19 bal you have no other to “force to game”
June 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you need only 2 tricks from partner you should bid 4 i think
June 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the bidding goes 1♥-1♠; 2♦ then 2nt should be forcing. Although i would bid 1♠ i think 2♣ is better than 2♦.
June 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You bid 3clubs so you get p's opinion on the matter and he said 3spades is high enough so now you should respect his choice
June 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with you but unfortunately he didn't say they are all winners. Maybe this guy really didn't remember or maybe he thought that the only thing to be done is the finesse and that it is self-explanatory. Unfortunately it's the director's job to find out which one is the real thing
April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is what the European federation stated about the new rules and about the claim. European director seminar 2017. I too have concerns about this and this approach can only work in high level bridge and not some random day tournament. But I don't think it's unreasonable to say that what on earth can declarer play for if he doesn't play for the finesse in this hand. I think it's a child's hand let's not push it this far
April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is what I am saying, as a director you always make him play what you think he would. If it is an open tournament he always finesses no matter what and let him cry afterwards about the bare K offside.
April 27, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top