Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jordan Lampe
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That makes it sound like you believe 3 is less accurate. Or perhaps that you don't trust your Partner to use his brain.
Oct. 3, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 is the systemic response to 1NT forcing after starting 1 with 4=5=2=2. This particular hand you might upgrade to 2NT, but subtract a jack (say make the hearts AQTxx) and you just bid 2 and … it's fine. Worst case is Responder had 3 spades, 1 heart and 4 clubs … then 2 is a perfectly viable bid with the 5 card suit.
Sept. 29, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Page 5 “Even if declarer started with Axxx of hearts” should be “Kxxx of hearts”
Sept. 23, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What does bidding spades and then raising hearts show for you? xxxx in spades ? For me, bidding spades twice indicates you pretty much can't stand any other trump suit unless pard's willing to fly solo.
Sept. 20, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is 2-2-2?
Sept. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The three rules for a 4-card suit overcall at the 1 level are: 1. You have opening strength 2. There is no other applicable call 3. The 4 card suit is very strong.

1 and 2 clearly apply. Is AJ9x “very strong”? Not for me, but it's not insane to judge it so. However, we can see from the voting that the BW community doesn't think 1 is viable.
Sept. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can see showing the good spade suit before showing the heart raise, but bidding it TWICE without showing the hearts?
Sept. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East's failure to bid implies shortness in majors, so maybe partner is trying to show 4-4 majors? Quite a leap to take undiscussed, though. I can't think of anything better than Davis' comment above.
Sept. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Double is the only way to get to 3NT, and you can bid clubs over any spade bid CHO attempts to make.
Sept. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't need to. 6NT is a command to stop the auction. It's really quite easy.
Sept. 17, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Personally I'd apply Kit Woolsey's rule here: If somebody jumps to slam, the auction is over. This is kind of like the 2nd option, except Opener's opinion is not required at this point.
Sept. 17, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What am I supposed to do with a balanced yarb in 4th seat after 1NT-X-2 (to play) ?
Sept. 15, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You have amazing support, a singleton, and an ace as well. Your hand got a lot better knowing there are 5 spades over there.
Sept. 12, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would do whatever I was planning on doing when I chose to bid 3.
Sept. 12, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A negative-free bid is non forcing, but it is supposed to be constructive, isn't it? Why didn't I raise to 3 the first time around?
Sept. 12, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes.

Specifically, there's a social problem here: If every single claim followed the law strictly, it would be a lot more time and effort than people collectively want to take. Think about how unions sometimes cause trouble by “following rules to the letter”. The problem, as we note, is after everyone is sloppily claiming for a while, somebody makes a sloppy claim that isn't true … or is only true if the Declarer knows he has to play a high diamond before any high hearts or that the trumps have to be played in the right order …

What we are doing here in this thread is trying to see if we can keep claiming simple and easy while still being “fair” in these tricky cases. And so far the answer is that there is no easy answer.
Sept. 11, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So now I can always claim with “I have a 100% line” and I get the benefit of the doubt? Sweet!
Sept. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, but it might be suggesting we have a good sacrifice at the 6 level.
Sept. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I should have said “inviting a sacrifice” or “suggesting that 6 might be correct” or … I don't know how to word it in a way that some BW reader won't misconstrue.
Sept. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not according to the voting!
Sept. 5, 2019
.

Bottom Home Top