Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jordan Lampe
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Any reason I couldn't bid 1NT over 1?
June 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think Partner has already shown a good 6-5.
June 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand how people can bid on here. If Partner's 1NT is showing 6-9 HCP or so, then Partner doesn't have enough room to have the spade stopper he promised AND the high diamond honor we need to hold that suit to 1 loser AND the two club honors we need to hold that suit to 0 losers. What am I missing?
June 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sure, but why wouldn't you Double then? Pass is the weird bid.
June 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whatever the technical merits of standard count might be, it is so much easier on the memory to just say “upside down count and attitude in all situations” that I'd choose upside-down.
June 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You showed your max, and then partner asked how you feel opposite a singleton diamond, and the answer is your hand is even better now. What's the problem?

If Partner needs to know things like whether you have the ace of clubs (required stopper!) or ace of diamonds (wasted value!), perhaps Partner should start a cue bidding sequence rather than hope that you can figure out that 4 was a bid saying “do you have two tricks in clubs to cover my three small?”
June 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even with Axx you only have 8 tricks if the opponents lead a black suit instead of a red one.
June 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, I admit I was expecting a shapelier hand for the 3 bid. But I guess I can see how if My hand has K and a couple of other magic honors how we can make 6 without going over 9 HCP.

OTOH, it IS matchpoints, I AM balanced, the opponents are being quiet, and, as we can see, My hand will cooperate on slam finding with a good maximum and we go down 2. I guess this is why we have bidding polls.
June 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm having a hard time imagining what holding Partner has that means he doesn't want to bid 3NT over my 1NT call, but yet we make 10 tricks in NT. AKQ x AQxxx KQJx ?
May 31, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Don't we want to be 70% to be in grand slam? And isn't a grand slam that needs “only a 3-2 break” in one key suit actually slightly worse than 68% (because we are ignoring the possibility of a void somewhere).
May 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many play that the jump to 2NT does not deny 4 spades since it's hard to describe the hand well after a 1 call and it's not quite strong enough for a 2 call.
May 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like to call it the “usual” 2 notrump in this situation.
May 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The problem with Pass is that if it passes out in 1, you'll likely get a bad score for being in a 5 or 6 card spade fit. The problem with bidding on is that if Partner plays you for a full 6-9 points like you're supposed to have, you could end up in some 23-24 point game with badly fitting hands.

On this hand, I would bid just because the void opposite partner's suit is SO bad and because my 4 points are an ace, which is always a little better than 4.
May 27, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems like South is kind of stuck in your system, because he has no way to know whether Opener has a crappy hand with 5 hearts or a good hand with 6 hearts.
May 27, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted for down 1 because I misread “we had already taken 5 tricks” as meaning the declarer had already taken 5 tricks. Then I added 5 plus the 3 obvious top tricks to get down 1. Now that I re-read and see that it was meant to have been “declarer has already taken 4 tricks”, then I would now vote for down 2.
May 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How about a 3 overcall then?
May 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If it's to the disadvantage of the other team to reveal that they drew you, and they were blabbing about it, I don't see where the UI is.
May 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good point. I somehow thought the contract was notrump.
May 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand what happened in the spade suit on the second hand. The opponents led the A and then later a low one, and then you “cleared the suit”, but you don't have three winners. But you seem to be on lead after clearing them, so does that mean you ducked the second round of spades and then won the final two? If so, couldn't you have made your life easier by cashing the K, Q, and exiting the 4th spade, which is safe as we are pretty sure they are splitting 4-4, and the opponents are forced to break the red suits for you?
May 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How would we rule if the claim had been translated as “Trumps are out, and the rest are high”?
April 25, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top