Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jordan Lampe
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I am supposed to invite if game is laydown opposite the perfect minimum, should I overbid if game is laydown opposite the perfect maximum?
Feb. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Give me the K and I'll bid 4. Give me the K and I'll try 3NT. Although with either of those hands I might've opened 2NT.
Feb. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I still need 10 tricks to open 2 with a minor, and I only count 9, so I'll start with 1 and if it passes out there I'll be happy with my +110 or +130.
Feb. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Am I playing 2/1? If so, IJS? I might bid 2 anyway.
Feb. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Which pieces from the original list are very bad?
Feb. 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Michael S: I believe Adam's point is that he is happy to play 2 *undoubled* with this meaning. If the opponents double and it turns out his major was spades, then he'll correct to 2.
Feb. 17, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What would 4 by West over 4 have meant? It can't mean “I wanted to bid slam but I see we have an uncontrolled suit” since we've already bid controls in all the suits. So it seems like it should mean “I am just about interested in slam but need one more goodie from Partner” shouldn't it? And now Partner, with nothing extra from what he's already shown can Pass.
Feb. 17, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm not sure I understand what “2=Support” means. You mean your X showed 3 card support? or 2 showed diamond support? Or what?
Feb. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Neal: in the problem they are studying (bidding without competition) there's no need for weak opening bids.
Feb. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We don't have to speculate, someone has already done it: check table 7 in https://arxiv.org/abs/1607.03290 . It looks fairly random and inefficient use of bidding space, although it seems to have stumbled into transfer openings.
Feb. 7, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Could LHO be psyching?
Feb. 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know how hard it is to put in a few specific cards. Apparently it was too hard for the OP.
Feb. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My rule is that x's can never win a trick unless everyone else is out.
Jan. 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So partner has something like Qxx or QJx of spades and probably a diamond card, and it looks like 9 tricks will be easy and 12 nearly impossible.
Jan. 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How does Responder show a double negative in your system?
Jan. 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I was but a young beginner, I was taught that with 6-9 points, insufficient support to raise Opener's suit, but no suit to bid at the 1 level, that I was supposed to bid 1NT.
Jan. 30, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If 2 is “not GF” and 2NT shows stoppers in the majors, shouldn't 3 be NF showing a 10-12 minimum without a club stopper? I grant the club stopper is looking dodgy, especially after partner has wrong-sided NT for us, but I don't see how that hand is anything like a minimum.
Jan. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What do you bid after the inevitable 1?
Jan. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand one of the bullet points: “If the opening bid is 1 or 1, it gets one extra dot.” Doesn't that mean any system at all gets 2 dots to start with?
Jan. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If 3 is ‘top of the range’ then presumably 3 or 3 can show bottom and middle. Why you would play this way is unclear, but one certainly could play that way.
Jan. 25, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top