Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jordan Lampe
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Presuming declarer has the pointed KQ's and running clubs, who cares? Doesn't he just discard the KQ on the run of the hearts and you never get to enjoy your slow diamond trick anyway? Why risk an accident when you already have a good score; looks like 5 was cold.
Jan. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Okay, you got me, zing. I will go and beg to be let into the 299er game.
Dec. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I sometimes wonder if life is easier if you (by agreement) bid the 5 card suit first when you have a good 6-5 and partner preempts.
Dec. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In “Standard” 2 here is game forcing, but I am of the opinion that life is much easier if you play it as showing reverse strength. If you had that agreement then this hand is suddenly easy to bid. And the downside of this agreement is … well, I can't think of one but I'm sure somebody could if they tried.
Dec. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you don't like the rules, change them. I agree that 12 IMPs seems harsh for being 10 minutes late, especially if there are extenuating circumstances. But I don't agree with “I don't like the rule therefore I am going to ignore it”
Dec. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm just saying “rules are rules” in another way. The rules say “if X happens then Y results”. Sometimes X is “we took 12 tricks in 6x” and Y is “our score is +1210”. Sometimes X is “the team shows up 10 minutes late” and Y is “12 IMP penalty”.
Dec. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's a wild distributional hand, and white on red you bid 6 over the opponents' making 6 and happen to make it when the Q of a key side suit drops singleton. Do you take your +1210, or do you say, “you know, that was kind of unlucky for you guys. Let's split the difference at +500”?
Dec. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know what partner has, but we will find out after I correct to 2.
Dec. 22, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't like this argument. Sometimes a call might be totally obvious to a world class player … or even to the vast majority of experts … and yet I can still be genuinely uncertain about what the right thing to do is my own self. Are you and MR saying that I should never ask a question if there is the slightest chance that the answer is “it is totally obvious that my partner screwed up”?
Dec. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If we hypothesize that there are some players who find it extra convenient to attend an NABC when it coincides with a holiday; and a second group of players who find it extra difficult, then the current schedule is good. The first group of players would have no NABCs to go to if all three avoided holidays. The second group of players would have no NABCs to go to if all three were over holidays. At least with the current schedule all groups have at least one NABC which is convenient to attend.
Dec. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I play systems on, then (1)-1NT-(whatever) is the same as 1NT-(whatever). If I don't play Systems On, then I play whatever it is I play. Old fashioned “Standard” is that when partner has shown a strong NT double is penalty.
Dec. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Given the way people bid nowadays, that's a 1 level opener!
Dec. 11, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jordan's new convention after 2M-2NT asking
3 = crap
3 = good trumps
3 = good honors in other suits
3 = good shape
Dec. 11, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It sounds to me like what has happened is West thinks North is doubling based on the fact that North thinks West has both minors, and therefore concluded that North has both minors, and therefore our side must have the hearts. A weird mix of AI, UI, and insanity all in one simple bridge call.
Dec. 4, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you are playing 2 as 18-19 balanced and that you pass 2M, there's no reason you can't play 2 as 18-19 balanced and pass 2 too. You lose the ability to pass 2, but in return you get to use the better preempt (2) as a preempt.
Nov. 29, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You could use 2 as the 18-19 hand…
Nov. 29, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Standard” is Penalty, but nowadays people like to play this as “takeout good enough to balance but not quite good enough to double directly”.
Nov. 27, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West has it
Nov. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If we are playing matchpoints, then it seems like giving Tom the ace of spades every time doesn't help since all the other people sitting in Tom's seat would also get the ace of spades.
Nov. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Great, in either case I bid the minimum number of clubs and I've actually shown my hand.
Nov. 18, 2019
.

Bottom Home Top