Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jordan Lampe
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 24 25 26 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How does advancer show the canonical balanced 8 count with a spade stopper or two?
25 minutes ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So what happens if one player thinks continuation makes sense and the other doesn't?
June 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My rule is that if we've bid a natural NT on the 2nd or later call, then all doubles are for penalty. Maybe not optimal, but at least I'll know what it means if this auction ever comes up.
June 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
All the double-dummy solvers basically use an alpha-beta min-max approach.
June 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There was no alert, so we presume it has the standard meaning, just like at the bridge table.
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Gregory, doesn't that agreement end up wrong-siding 3NT?
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I Smith from an original KJx and Partner “will play the Queen next”, then won't that block the suit?
June 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why can't you start 2, and if you get 3 back, go to 3NT suggesting that spades may not be the best spot?
June 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is a “long trail bid” (the 3 bid in the declarer play diagram on page 4)?
June 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Right, LHO believes declarer has 15-17, and if Pard has the A then declarer must have the J so leading a spade just sets up two tricks for declarer.
June 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Qx is a pretty good holding opposite a partner who has a lot of spades and slam interest.
June 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, South had a very light 55 minors hand (-/xxx/AQJxx/JT9xx if I recall correctly) which overcalled 2NT at the other table and got NS to 5 making +640 (vs our -140 for defending 3), when the opponents didn't cash their two heart winners in time. In the postmortem, someone suggested North has a call over 3 and my thoughts were GTFO but I had to make sure.
June 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Presumably the reason for it is because you've opened some random 3154 hand 1 and partner responds 1 and it makes for a lot smoother bidding to just raise 2 than to go through 2 and try to recover (even worse with shapes like 3145 or 3451).

But once you realize Opener is making 3 card raises, Responder, who hates playing Moyseians (especially with 4 weak trumps), wants to know whether we have a 7 or an 8 card fit. Or maybe Responder has 5 trumps and is interested in a ruffing slam so needs to know if the fit is 8 or 9 cards.
June 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or X as t/o and 4NT as penalty.
June 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know what the rules are in either location, but when I play in the New York area, everyone rapidly scoops up their bidding cards as soon as, sometimes before the last Pass. When I visited Japan, everyone left their cards on the table until the opening lead. I prefer the Japan way.
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I presume the biggest improvement is no longer having to use Adobe Flash, which seems to be on its way out.
May 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I wasn't going to pass 3NT, I shouldn't have bid 3 the last time.
May 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I couldn't bid 3 the first time, why can I bid it now?
May 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
deleted
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 transfer to hearts and then /don't/ raise spades at your next opportunity.
May 7
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 24 25 26 27
.

Bottom Home Top