Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
1 2 3 4 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... 24 25 26 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would prefer double also but actually like a light 2 call here to make finding a major harder. With majors you have not sure that is as critical.
July 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The most important rule of bidding is, Play the same system as your partner. Any agreement is better than none.”
Only if partner bids within the system.
July 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I first started playing I bid 3S over 3H after partner hesitated. Opponents called director and was told to play it out. 3S went down 1. 3H had a play but would have to pick up trump suit and 2 way finesse in side suit. Was ruled as 3H making. Next board against same opponents identical auction and partner hesitated as almost always did but I passed. We ended up beating 3H 1 trick and I stated(not knowing better) that I would have bid 3S(which would be down also) if you didn't hesitate. Opponent called director and wanted to now force a 3S(logical alternative bid) which thankfully director did not allow.
July 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Roland, example turns 15 to 40 percent. Sounds like I should be bidding on since with my heavy preempt I expect a lot of the field will be in 3N outscoring me.
If I am on an underdog team I may want to bid a 40% slam. Not stating I agree that all hesitations should be shot but you are arguing that bid should be allowed but evidence you present shows that it shouldn't.
July 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit, I was expecting another article on sexism at the bridge table.
July 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Enjoy your games.
July 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are you stating you purposely did something to try to get declarer to go wrong??
July 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Duck K of hearts and force Q at trick 2.
July 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I disagree that partner has same information as you do. You know opponent does not have a 2N opener from your hand and therefore assume RHO thought partner opened 1S. Partner may think that opponent has a 2N opener and did not see his opening bid.
July 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wouldn't you need to duck no matter what card was played if opponent held QT98. Seems like I would either duck or not independent of card played.
July 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the intent of question was are there hands too strong to preempt but not good enough to open. So a QT9xxx suit may be a good enough suit to preempt 2D with nothing else outside but:
Axx Axx QT9xxx x seems like it is a little to strong to open 2D but certainly does not look like 1D in 1st or 2nd seat.
June 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Deleted
June 24, 2016
John Moschella edited this comment June 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Were the cost to travel to the different tournaments for the board members from one year to the next. Did anyone look at where the tournaments were held to determine how different the per diem rates may have been in the different locations. 2015 Denver, Chicago, New Orleans versus 2014 Providence, Las Vegas, Dallas. I did a quick search and all 3 cities in 2015 are more expensive per diem rates than each of the equivalent locations in 2014. So yes a year later in more expensive cities I would expect an increase. Do we know if they actually spent money on other things in 2015 as opposed to 2014 or were we just looking at total without understanding the differences in the 2 years.
June 20, 2016
John Moschella edited this comment June 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
b what if no one else got a low diamond lead at trick one so therefore no one made 13 tricks?
June 13, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Board is also not replaced immediately after a problem is seen. Board is used by players for the rest of the event and then again in future tournaments. (believe it happens enough that is considered acceptable). Here where they immediately replaced the bidding box implies that something was agreed to incorrect with the bidding box.
June 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When the player looked at the 6H sitting between 6D and 6S where it is suppose to be in the bidding box may not have seen this as an issue. Since he was grabbing 6H he knew what 6H was It was when he placed it on table and his partner saw it was where issue came up.

The fact the the bidding box was replaced after implies that the organizer's agreed that the box was faulty.
June 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I went thru auction asking what 4C was, splinter was explained, then asked what 4H was and was told queue but may be natural(person held AK of hearts), then asked 4N and was told keycard(I asked declarer who didn't bid 4N) for which suit. Was told unsure.
On this hand no difference in play and in no way affected result/defense. I was more interested if I am entitled to this information.
Some players may answer this as 6 card keycard.
June 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is basically exactly what occurred.
June 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After auction I asked. What is 4 clubs (splinter) 4H queue but might be natural. 4N (blackwood) I then asked for what suit and was told not sure. Now as it turned out person had ace of clubs but answered 0 and made 7 when finesse was on but it seemed like I should be entitled to what suit 4N was in blackwood. I assumed spades until dummy stated 4H may be natural.
June 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is correct but I do not believe one should play when they have no intention of continueing on. If I qualified for the open and planned on playing in it then I should not play in the flight A.
May 28, 2016
1 2 3 4 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... 24 25 26 27
.

Bottom Home Top