Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jim Rasmussen
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North was the dealer
June 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, 2C is inverted. Fixed
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This director did have the rule book in hand and was attempting to use it.
Jan. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nice defense (and match). Thanks for sharing your thinking on this hand.
Aug. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have just published the full hand in a separate post
Aug. 5, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 from dummy and 6 from declarer
Aug. 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dinkin if they are still playing - guaranteed to be entertaining.
July 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Perhaps players are waiting until the conclusion of the Senior Trials before forming teams and submitting entries.
June 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For anyone interested in the actual hand it is now posted on page 3 of the original post.
April 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry - I originally posted the wrong bidding. Now is correct.
April 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West's actual hand was KTxx AJx xxx xxx
Nov. 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West will ruff the fourth diamond with a small heart and play the 9.
Nov. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Shortness + singleton or void.
Nov. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East played what looked like an encouraging spade at Trick 1 in reasonable tempo (I took 30-40 seconds before playing from dummy.)
Nov. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East will cover the K with the ace.
Nov. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Each defender will play a small trump in tempo.
Nov. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was involved in a somewhat similar incident during the Master Mixed BAM teams in Chicago this summer. At the conclusion of the second qualifying session my team was on the bubble to make it to the second day. The recap sheet had a Q by our team name, but on the overall sheet we were 45th (top 44 teams qualified). I asked the Director-in-Charge which one to believe and he said to check the Bulletin in the morning. The next day the Bulletin had us qualifying, but just to make sure I went to the playing site an hour before game time to confirm that we had qualified. I was told that we had and I picked up our team entry and table assignment at that time. One minute before game time the Director approached me and apologetically said that a mistake had been made and that in fact we had not qualified. Since my teammates wanted to play in the A/X Swiss if that was the case and the BAM was about to start, I did not have time to follow up about what had happened at that time.
A friend spoke to a member of the qualifying team (a sponsored team) about what had happened and he was told that one of their pairs doesn’t keep a scorecard and that they only found the scoring mistake much later when they were going over the hands. The next day I repeated this conversation to the BAM DIC and asked for details of the scoring correction(s). He would only state that a number of scoring corrections had come in “late at night” and that had altered the position of several of the teams, but he wasn’t forthcoming with any of the details. Probably it was obvious that there had been a mistake and nothing untoward happened. However, since I could not get any information about the nature of this team’s scoring correction, which team it was against, and if, when and how the correction was confirmed, particularly since no scorecard had been maintained, I was left with a bad taste in my mouth. I recorded this incident and received the following ambiguous response from the ACBL Recorder “I find it troubling that you believe something nefarious may have occurred.”
In fact I have no reason to believe that something nefarious occurred, but as Brad suggested above “improvements need to be made to avoid even the appearance of Impropriety”.
Oct. 31, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seems to me that is a very murky area of the bridge laws. Some top pairs in the US play “We signal whatever we think partner needs to know”. See for example Justin Lall's interview on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUG9vfHN3so
around 20-22 minutes
and some of the SSF forms from the US Team Trials http://usbf.org/index.php?option=com_entries&event=39&task=list
Is declarer supposed to be able to figure out what it is that the defender's partner needs to know on his own? Or can he ask what it is that defender's partner usually needs to know? And what if in the interests of full disclosure a well intentioned answer is wrong and leads declarer astray - is he entitled to redress?
Oct. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree that 3 and 4 appear to be switched. I observed 5 fingers on at 1:08:22 for 13 and it looks like B twice is showing 5-5 for 26, once before Z touches his lead (19:35) and once after (19:50).
Oct. 17, 2015
Jim Rasmussen edited this comment Oct. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Please bring back the Grossacks - very entertaining
May 10, 2015
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top