Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jim Perkins
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner and I have a hard and fast agreement: If I pull your penalty double, I lack the values you expect for my prior bidding. AND . . . let's be polite and say . . . be quiet.
Dec. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you guys both, but Phil in particular are missing the problem caused by the “fast low.”

Following the fast low, Ron now has UI considerations to assess in addition to any actual bridge problem that he may face whole hand, T1 or otherwise. Play too fast yourself – UI. Play too slow – UI. Detach a card, replace it, collapse hand – UI.

And . . . am I the only one that thinks that the UI actually suggests the uppercut line and not the other way around? (This is actually not well placed in the thread by being included in this comment, but I'm not going to edit.)
Dec. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg: A codified pause might work/be appropriate at high levels, but as a sometimes, fill-in, emergency club director I don't want a bunch of club level “rules players” calling me about the failure to pause. Especially when the OPPs have no idea what UI is and would not be able to gain any advantage even if allowed to verbally describe their holdings to each other.

“More angles have been shot in the name of enforcing the rules than were ever conceived by those breaking them.”
Dec. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For an undiscussed auction, 3NT seems to be most prudent. I need another A to think about the 5 level. Let alone 6.
Dec. 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am surprised to see the 2 beating the A. And by such a wide margin. I wonder if the T makes a difference.

Usually leading the A is stronger than expected in sims, because the next shift is double dummy.
Dec. 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They don't guess wrong, but they can tell us how often the lead works vs. how often it doesn't. And I think they will show that s are best followed significantly by s. I could be wrong.

Which doesn't mean that they will work out every time.
Nov. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Isn't there someone around that has simulator software to give us the answer here? I picked the . Not because it's good. Just less bad. The OPPs have 8 or 9 s, partner has 3 or 4. Odds are over 2-1 against partner holding the Q.

I guess that the A is a close second.

Simulations anyone?
Nov. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Insufficient. But x'd. Partner points out to (my) RHO, “Well, your plan worked.”

Down 2 NV more than compensated for the blood bath in 5Ds x'd.
Nov. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I dealt V, and pick up ATxxx, Q9xxxx, x, 9. I consider whether I can explain a light opening here with 6 losers, but I pass. LHO bids 1. Whew! Partner emerges with 4NT. RHO bids 4.

I double.

Relieved.
Nov. 28, 2015
Jim Perkins edited this comment Nov. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sign at a local bridge club . . . “Before you complain, have you considered volunteering?”
Nov. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well . . . I thought about the but the x persuaded me that partner wanted me to do something unusual. So I chose a . Without a x I vacillate between a and a . It does sound like the 6NT bidder believes that the tricks are going to run. And I have to think that includes the A, AQ, KQ or at least K of s.
Nov. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
+ 1 with Neil. When P bids 2 he can only be interested in 2 things: support and quality of suit. I have neither so I will not make any encouraging sound.

If R has some kind of rock crusher, my sign-off will not deter.
Nov. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
OFF TOPIC: To win the US Presidency, as I recently pointed out elsewhere, you simply need to get 67% of the abstentions from the last (mid-term) election.
Nov. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I just won't be able to explain a PASS to teammates since I assume that they are aware of some sort of LTC.

5 losers is just too few to just sit there.

PASS is unilateral.
Nov. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This was unlucky, but I still believe that advancing is right. To see things more pessimistically is MUB (monsters under the bed). Yes, the cards can sit just so. So that 4s is down. That's bridge.

Nov. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am an attorney and I have heard that the guilty should prefer the adversarial system and the innocent should prefer the French style administrative system.

I am not sure what FS are up to but they are sociopaths in any event (perhaps many top players are – as well as many overachievers in other fields), so they obviously care little for what damage they may inflict on others and their prior history of discipline shows this.
Nov. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So . . . when I want to know the meaning of a bid, I have taken to asking, “Have you discussed this sequence with your partner? and if you have not, please just say ‘undiscussed’”
Nov. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Reagan's massive tax overhaul. I'll stop there. PM if you want to hear my own private political tirade.
Nov. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
<3-3-4-3> <if East sits, which he has no reason not to>

Pulling partner's penalty X conveys “Some of your expected tricks won't be cashing.” Which is clearly not the case here.

<comments on partner's bidding deleted in the interest of politeness>
Nov. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't find the x of 2 to be horrible. But it is penalty, not takeout and I am not as sure of 6 tricks as I would need to be to make it.

Anyway, I have to assume that partner knows what I am doing and chose her bid accordingly. I PASS. Probably 5 IMPs to them.
Nov. 6, 2015
Jim Perkins edited this comment Nov. 6, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top