Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Hendrik Sharples
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 61 62 63 64
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You might want to mention you are playing Italian doubles before you give the bidding problems.
5 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think not forcing to game would be taking advantage of the UI. This looks more like the pro attempting to steal yet another hand from his weak client.
5 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There's a green card in the bid box, let me look for it.
16 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No one is passing and hoping partner reopens?
Dec. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, they actually handed out cell phone penalties.
Dec. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They were too busy handing out slow play penalties to worry about rulings.
Dec. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since we ran out of scorecards in the blues, I'm guessing that there was a prediction of a shortfall of 6 person teams on the weekend, so the acbl had to economize….
Nov. 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
partner made a penalty double, now I'm making another one.
Nov. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Although I understand the intentions, I don't know of a law that allows the director that sort of latitude.
Nov. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
sorry to hear you're not going Don. Hope everything is ok.
Nov. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I prefer to play 0314. I prefer that my opponents play 1430.
Nov. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I sat on a national committee with this very question. It appears that US West coast and European players play 2 of either major as drop dead, but US East coast players play 2 as drop dead and 2 as invitational (and neither has ever even heard of playing it differently than their way).
Nov. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like to keep this as ambiguous as possible so we can have a cue bidding sequence where neither of us knows the trump suit.
Nov. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I had just one bid with east I'd bid 6nt, so pass seems out of the question. Perhaps my partners take the jump to 4 more seriously than op's partners?
Nov. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for your answers, I figured this would be as unanimous as any BW poll can be. The story: my wife opened this playing in a very limited game (she has 200 MP) with an up and coming but novice(y) partner. Her partner bid 3NT with a clear bid, but fairly crappy hand, and it went down 2. She went running to the director (a pro) to ask what went wrong, and he said my wife should downgrade that hand and open 1. I think that's crazy, especially at matchpoints, and suggested to her that when a pro is talking to a potential client they tend to be overly “diplomatic”, and so I suspect that if my wife had gone up to ask he would have said her partner should downgrade her hand and just invite.
Nov. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
K&R (KQT KQ9 874 AJ62) = 14.45
DK = 15
Nov. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks all, playing in a 1st time partnership on the actual hand I guessed the X was penalty and passed, my partner had a 4-3-1-5 6 count and meant it as takeout.
We got lucky and collected 200.
I guess that Debbie and Michael R need to have a discussion….
Nov. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe standard is the 6 asks you to bid the grand with 3rd round control. I'm guessing you bid 7 with the Q and 7 with shortness, though I don't recall this being discussed by any of my partnerships.
Nov. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At least they went plus….
Nov. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
you are North. Neither of your partnership has taken a bid other than pass until S X. I'm asking what do you think it is, then wondering if showing your actual hand changes your mind.
Nov. 12
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 61 62 63 64
.

Bottom Home Top