Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Hank Eng
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The responder is a very weak (almost novice) player.
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Aces Scientific used the method Gordon first described: if weak, pick one and transfer to it; if inv, 2D(transfer) then 2S; if strong, 2H(transfer) then 3H.
Dec. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think this was called Weissberger at some point.
Dec. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've seen 3rd/5th play your way with different players, so now when I hear “3rd & 5th,” I'll often ask, “3rd from even?” which is the way I learned it in Rosler & Rubens' Journalist Leads.

I also ask, “In the middle of the hand, too?” which has gotten a few yes's and probably's.
Nov. 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“You are E and lead your systematic low spade… You play 3rd/5th leads…”

Just making sure, that means you led the 8 to show an even number, right? If so, then partner knows declarer has at most a singleton, and his 5 is suit preference. If you led the 3 to show 5 or 6, then partner (with a three card spade suit) is giving attitude and showing the J.
Nov. 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I play with a weak defensive player, I play suit preference.

When I play with a strong defensive player, I follow what John Miller stated: attitude when a tap is possible; otherwise, suit preference.
Nov. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm willing to bring a new deck of cards to an NABC if the price is brought back to a reasonable $15 per session.
Nov. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks everyone for voting and comments. I polled this hand because at the table, the opener did not alert 3C (in ACBL-land), broke tempo, and rebid 3N. She did alert *after* responder rebid 4S.

After I led and saw the dummy, I called the director. Holding a balanced near maximum, I said some people might try for a matchpoint top and pass 3N, which goes down 1. The director polled 3 players and all 3 said they would bid 4S, so he claimed passing was not a logical alternative and let the result stand (4S making).

A side known fact at the club: responder is known to play this 3C response with most of his partners, and opener is known to not play conventional major raises with any of her partners.
Nov. 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I recently had a discussion about this topic. My partner and I agreed that a direct 3N was a hand with no good slam cards for opener's suits, while a 2N then 3N showed a hand with possible slam cards for opener's suits.
Oct. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When my partner and I were just starting, she kept forgetting what our 2NT opening was (20-21, 20-22, 22-24?). On one hand she looked at the opponent's convention card before opening 2NT. At some point, an opponent asked me the range for the 2NT opening, so I picked up the opponent's card and announced 20-21.
Oct. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry, I have trouble keeping up with Alert Chart… In Reno NABC (March 2016), I had a great contract changed because my partner did not alert this treatment - which I believe was alertable at the time. Perhaps I was naive to trust three national directors who gave me the same ruling. The ACBL revised their chart in April 2016 to give these examples:

1♦-P-1♥-2♥: If natural or 2-suited takeout, no Alert.
1♦-P-1♥-2♦: If natural or 2-suited takeout, no Alert.

http://web2.acbl.org/documentLibrary/play/AlertProcedures.pdf
Aug. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With no discussion, I'm not sure what to expect from some decent players in my club.

However, if I'm playing at the local club with newer players (<10 years), I expect 1N, 2, 2, 2N, and DBL to show both majors. Then after the hand, I usually get them to make half of those bids natural.

I am like Dave Beer: I play 2 and 2 are natural (and alertable in ACBL-land). DBL usually has both majors or could be a very strong hand. 1N is natural, and 2N is really the only conventional bid: 5-5 or better in the majors.
Aug. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I expected medium or better (14-17 hcp) so a Q more than Aaron's: KQxx Kxx AQxxx x. I recently played against an Emerald LM (7500+ masterpoints) who surprised me with a 4=3=4=2 hand with 12 hcp, so I'm not sure what “expert standard” is for this auction.
April 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What about telling the club owner about the bad director ruling? Perhaps they will look into getting the director educated?
March 31, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am not an expert but I am a strong club player and hope to become an expert and I learned in my teens or earlier.
March 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2N. Doubtful my opponents will have a constructive system for bidding over 2N, and if they double, I run to 3C.
Feb. 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Duly noted for the next time, Ray. 14 comments felt longer than 24 hours! :-)
Feb. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was the overcaller and had no idea what partner meant, since we had never discussed this auction. I figured with heart length or a heart honor he was more likely to raise or pass then redouble. My 30-seconds of bridge logic at the table seemed to suggest that it was more important for partner to have a cheap escape route (SOS) then a secondary way of raising (honor redouble) especially when they can take our heads off. Also, on the practical side, if I ran to a side suit and it wasn't SOS, partner could go back to my first suit and I would eventually figure out this bidding sequence; but if it was SOS and I passed…

The opponents took me off the hook as the auction continued:
(2)-2-(dbl)-rdbl;
(2)-p-(2N)-p;
(3)-all pass

They made 5 instead of 4 when I didn't lead my heart. Partner meant it as support, not necessarily an honor redouble.

Sadly, we can make 4 hearts - or 5 if I take the perfect view in the trump suit. The opponents opened one of those 8.5 trick hands.

See http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/bidding-problem-11139/
Feb. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner redoubled with this hand - even though we had no explicit agreement on that bid. I had no idea what was going on, and we sold out to 3.

My hand was: Ax K87xx x AQTxx, and I can make 4 hearts with a 4-1 heart break and a 3-1 club break. Playing double dummy, I can make 5: using the A to drop RHO's stiff Q and later hooking LHO for their T. Yes, it was one of those 8.5 trick 2 openers: KQJT9x Q AKQxx x.
Feb. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David H, about 2 years ago the GCC was changed to say that a “could be short” 1C opening on 44=3D=2C is natural, so only regular conventions are allowed against it. However, there are some players who say “could be short” and add other meanings; so you can play an artificial defense against them. (Those were the parts David B & I were discussing above.)
Feb. 1, 2016
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top