Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Gregory Nowak
1 2 3 4 ... 164 165 166 167
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I didn't invent the name quack or bullet or cowboy. Just observe the difference when I'm trying to take tricks.

They still need something besides aces. Like something in the other hand. And the more jacks you have (like I've experienced about having 3), the more you need in the other hand.

David, I'm making observations. Am I wrong?

Can you help the other people that bid 2?
4 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My 5 didn't work well It didn't go all pass.
So now I'm committing a crime. Second guessing my 1st guess and their guess. At least they're not making after partner gives them a ruff/sluff.
I'm giving them a second chance to bid 6. Maybe I'm using my imagination later instead of earlier.
6 hours ago
Gregory Nowak edited this comment 5 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My faulty comment.
On a spade opening lead N must unblock spades at trick 2. So opposite from a club opening lead.

And now a whole new set of ‘how does the play go?’.

So much demand on the defense.
And N, please give up with those clubs.

Even after our heart start, if N plays diamonds, we have a chance declarer can go wrong.
10 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I decided on the J lead due to other potential locations for the Q. Also I could be embarrassed. But if it works, it may have better potential than other leads.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North needs to do a little thinking.
All evidence, the club lead(7), stiff 8 in dummy, the auction,
the spots they are holding.
Mentality adjustment: I we're going to beat this, it clearly not by playing clubs.
She can start unblocking the spades. Partner is likely to have 4. Or exit with a diamond or a third round of hearts.
The club exit is only to be used as an emergency exit.
22 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not playing Ougust would make me feel helpless.
Aug. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 quick tricks (aces). Not just any context.
Emotionally evocative.
Aug. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm bidding 1N, then I can bid again over partner's 2 of a red suit.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If declarer goes after 3 heart tricks early, the 4th heart pulverizes his hand. Squeezes it and/or sets himself up for a double endplay.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A poll on the opening lead might have been interesting.
I lead the J.
Partner overtook with king, so declarer was in the dark there.
Then she fired out a small club. Declarer played the queen.
It looks like panic and desparation.
After the hand she said “What was the diamond situation?”.
Talk about the epitome of an afterthought.

Declarer next lead the J. Partner still fired clubs. Oh well. C'est la vie. Bring on Frank.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After declarer has played a round of diamonds and North has played a round of diamonds, declarer can't get to his hand with a 3rd round of diamonds without setting up south's J while he still has the A.

Now you can go back to declarer playing spades before hearts an untangle the defense's 5 tricks.

If declarer plays clubs before hearts, the defense can get a club, a heart, and 3 spades.

Go way back to an opening spade lead and sort out the play from there.

And you still have ‘what is the play after a heart lead’. If you're still here.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My confusion on the club exits.

At the table n exited in clubs, failing to realize all that did was give declarer his 3rd club trick and we were never getting 2. But we had 5 tricks coming other ways.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No. North can take the second round of hearts with the king. But declarer has lost his A entry for a 4th round spade trick, so south can overtake North's second spade and cash the ten and declarer can't get to the dummy to cash a spade.
Now the defense has 3 spade tricks and 2 others.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lol. The rest of the field didn't feel like they had just gotten 2 zeros. It's not the first time something like this has happened.
Fortune favored the bold and it worked.
Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If 3 hearts then not 3 clubs.
Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Declarer can get the Ace and Queen?
Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This hand was like an incredible back and forth declarer vs defense.
Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 clubs, 3 diamonds, 2 hearts.
Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Don't do it as a routine.
I've also seen leads like the 8 be the only lead that works.
Aug. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't get a ruling.
We don't have such luxury's.
We just let their guilty consciences restore equity in the next and some more boards.
Aug. 15
1 2 3 4 ... 164 165 166 167
.

Bottom Home Top