Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Gábor Szőts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 68 69 70 71
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Over the years I've found that whenever I bid 3 with this hand partner is 5233 or even 5242 and he lets me play that ugly contract. He never turns up with 4-card support. Still, I never bid 2.
Maybe the best way to prevent such a thing is to double yourself and hope partner won't choose your 3-card suit.
The problem with that is what he should do with extras, when he'd like to bid more than a mere 3 minor.
Maybe the best way to solve that is to pass and wait for partner to reopen with a double…
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have lots of cover cards and maybe the diamond doubleton is also useful. Can't see and intelligent way to explore. He has at most 6 losers, maybe I'll contribute 4.
Oct. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass with all minimums. If you feel like bidding, you should have upgraded to 1NT.
If you can't stand 1NT with 5M, play forcing NT.
Oct. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you mean (1)-2, that's for the majors as usual.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Too weak to open, OK. Too weak to come in over 1, OK. Yet good enough to reopen vulnerable at he 3 level, facing a passed partner, is that OK too?
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe East would have found a bid in 3rd seat then. Not necessarily so, though.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And his strength is…? Remember, he passed over 1.
Oct. 18
Gábor Szőts edited this comment Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To my mind it must be clearly allowed to psych and also to have a way to reveal it. However, the opponents have to be informed just when the suspect bid happens that ‘this is one of those occassions on which we regularly psych’ and also later to inform them that ‘now he shows that he had psyched the XYZ bid’.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Why would he else return to diamonds”.

I think many have the agreement that 1-1-2-3 is a natural invitation with only 4 spades and opener is allowed to pass only if he raised on 3.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm afraid of the following scenario: responder passed because he allowed for your penalty double, now if you also pass you have probably passed out 3 just at the wrong time, when you should have bid on to 3.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You can still edit your OP to avoid further misunderstandings.
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You knew that the double was penalties, so you also knew that 3 was natural, the more so becaue West did not alert it. So why did you ask, to begin with? You created yourself a problem where there was none. In fact you created the impression that you yourself have diamonds, maybe thereby increasing the probability of a mix-up between the opponents.
Your tactics were successful. You have no obligation to alert West that the double was penalty (if no rule forces you to alert such a double). He could have asked.
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Reading this discussion makes me understand even more why the Italians reserve a bid for 18-19 balanced hands: in competition after 1m it is nice to know your partner will never have that hand.
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Take-out of diamonds with extra strength. Why should I bid with short hearts when partner is there to balance if they pass out 2? And if he doesn't reopen he might have saved us from a disaster.
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like it too although I am not sure about the interpretation of opener's pass. Does it not limit his hand?

BTW, another rule I think makes sense is ‘if we were forced to 3 we don’t pass out 4'.
Oct. 12
Gábor Szőts edited this comment Oct. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I bid 4NT to show him he can lead his singleton against 5.
Oct. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The hand is clearly too strong for a mere splinter. Therefore, 2 followed by 4.
Oct. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What agreement about the redouble should I have for the case when my screen-mate tells me he does not know what his partner's double had meant? Or am I forbidden to redouble?
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Your argument made me change my vote from no blame to North to blame.
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's odd to signal with an even number.
Oct. 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 68 69 70 71
.

Bottom Home Top