Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Franco Baseggio
1 2 3 4 5 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That’s certainly one of the options I’d consider. An alert West with say 1354 shape can duck DK, though, and I think this will hold you to 10.
5 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It’s the nature of this series that they aren’t necessarily pat puzzles. I think it’s reasonable to imagine that the defense would keep 1 or 2 spades, and 4-5 of each minor in the 5 card ending.
5 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you play spades before diamonds, an alert East will see that dummy is stranded.
19 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually, it’s easier than that. Draw trumps, cash the diamonds, ruff a spade and you’ll know the count. Still need to pitch diamond on last trump.

Edit: if somehow West shows up with the diamond stopper, then pitch q on last trump. It won’t be a guard squeeze, but If East held K, or of West has sole responsibility for clubs, you will get home.

When, as expected, East has diamond length, you are home except when East has SK but no club honor. When west has SK its a double, when East has it and a club honor its a guard. Nice thing about guard squeezes is they play the same as doubles, so you can keep both possibilities live.

So 3 cards need to be wrong to go down, though there may be scope to misguess when East has everything.
Feb. 19
Franco Baseggio edited this comment 14 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Doesn’t matter who has SK. Run trumps pitching a club and spade. On the last trump, back your judgment and pitch a diamond if it isn’t good. Then finish diamonds.
Feb. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is a super-long thread and I hesitate to add to it. I'll try to bring some new thoughts, at least.

Timing is an inherent and positive part of a competition in 2 main scenarios: where the endeavor is inherently about speed (e.g. track events), or where perfection is the goal (say crossword puzzles, solving Rubik's cubes).

In contrast, in bridge (or chess), perfection is unattainable. Time controls of some sort are necessary, but should be viewed as unfortunate, with the goal of minimizing their impact compared to some ideal of “true bridge”. Further, as well-documented in this thread, they are difficult to apply fairly and can be arbitrary. An event getting decided on arbitrary non-bridge factors is toxic.

You can make time “part of the game”, such as speed chess or fast pairs, but these will never be the “heavy weight championship” of their respective games.

Also, another skill common to many competitions is managing and varying your effort level. Pacing yourself so you can give extra during crunch-time. One aspect of that in bridge is spending more time on the hard hands, for sure, and less on the easy ones. If we allocate a fixed amount of time per hand, this skill is diminished. Which is more “true bridge”, playing fast or spotting problems?

If the best tradeoff involves more time controls and less variable time per hand, that could well be the reality. But recognize that that makes the competition a less-perfect reflection of the game in its purest form. Do this wrong, and “making the opponents waste time in situations where it can't matter” becomes a skill, too.

Ultimately, I don't really disagree that reducing the harms of slow play is a worthwhile and achievable goal. But, it's a balancing act, and it's also very easy to make the costs exceed the benefits. Personally, I don't think I've ever lost an event because I was following someone slow.

I'm very encouraged by Peter Talyigas's comment. A great start would be more measurement, initially for the benefit of the measured.
Feb. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 minutes late every round is not 26 extra minutes. It's 2 extra minutes on the first round, none thereafter.

Breaks, of course, change that math, but still there's no where to find 26 minutes.
Feb. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So this is afte t, a, k, a (spade pitch), j, draw trumps, low spade.

I was worried West could play k and a spade, but that’s 10 tricks with East endplayable.

So now if East wins J and exits t I think you’re right that we are fine.
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yeah, I suspected there was a detail missing, like cashing a diamond top before heart hook. Except what do I pitch?

More thinking required….
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Of course, thanks. I think that’s the answer then, spread out over a few comments.
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I still hadn't decided what I'm doing after the J unblock. Seemed natural to play K, heart finesse, draw trumps, low spade, but that appears to fail: T, K, spade and I'll still lose a heart.

So I guess it's just a low spade at trick 3. A red return leaves us well-placed. K we can ruff high, take one diamond and a heart finesse and eventually throw East in with J (or we have enough tricks if East unblocks).

On a low spade, if we pitch, East can ruff and play a club, so (it seems) we must ruff with K. Hmm, East might have a problem here:

say a diamond is pitched. Then we can take 2 diamonds pitching a spade and a heart, heart finesses, and play clubs from the top. East can win J and be end-played.

An under-ruff we can pitch a spade, hook the heart, draw trumps and play Q.

So, East pitches a heart under K. For the moment, I'm stuck. Back later.
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There was a nice discussion of this in the problem thread. You can't handle everything in this sure-tricks fashion if West has QTxx, but you can still handle a lot (e.g. Q and A where they're expected) if the A is out of the way when you run hearts.
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sure looks like you want to cash A early, perhaps trick 2. For example, if both play low you can cross, hook hearts, draw trump, and play a low spade.

West unblocking K is clearly not helpful to the defense. But East unblocking J might be.
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, fixed.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
thanks. I changed it to “coronaviruses”
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, though that takes a little care to avoid looking silly when hearts were 4-3 all along. Finish trumps, 3 hearts pitching diamonds, then K, A should position you to bring it home against East with > 2 hearts and K.
Feb. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, perhaps there are implications from the choice.

And, if it isn’t covered then the guard squeeze line still works, perhaps even better if you think you can place k.
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Posted a discussion of the solution here: https://bridgewinners.com/article/view/which-squeeze-6-with-solution/
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks so much!

The write ups seem to have a deal, then a lot of exposition, then a “solution”. In the original contest, was the exposition provided, or was that left to the solver to work out?
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think when West reduces to 2002 (pitching the Q of course) you have a sure-tricks line (assuming shape and first 5 tricks and Q but nothing about spade honors).

Also: what do you do if West reduces to 1012 while ditching Q? I don't see a sure-tricks line there.
Feb. 10
1 2 3 4 5 6
.

Bottom Home Top