Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Florian Alter
1 2 3 4 ... 7 8 9 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wouldn't even consider pass as being pessimistic. If 1NT showed something like (10)11-13, pass would be my choice as well.
Note that 10 or 11 counts are more likely than 12 or 13 counts.
And if partner accepts with a 12 count, you're probably not so happy, and in all the cases where partner has 10 or 11 you wished you had passed 1NT.
15 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I will post the full hand in one day or so. Then you can judge yourself if the bidding makes sense :)
15 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To a): the question is if there is any gain to play transfers compared to standard. If not, it's preferable to play standard

To c): I saw that one. That made me think that it's probably not so useful to play transfers over transfers.
15 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If your plan is to get to 3NT, you can as well open 1. That doesn't wrong-side the contract immediately and keeps other options open.
16 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I really like the idea of playing transfers in this position. Especially if you play often there is a good chance that it sticks quickly and it looks fun to play.

However, I wouldn't overdo it. My idea would be to play these transfers when the following applies:
a) First three seats bid different (!) suits naturally and 4th seat passes.
b) The bidding is below the 3 level (2 or lower).
c) Partner didn't bid a transfer.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Considering that this is the “bad” case, and the grand is still on 50%, it's not so bad to have gambled 7 (you can get 3 discards).
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2NT - 3; 4 5; 5 7
4 super accept and control. 5 exclusion, 5 0 or 3.

The suit is a bit of an illusion. Your honor holdings indicate that is in a large amount of the cases the right trump suit. So transfer, bid excusion and bid 7 if partner has the 3 keys.
If you run into xxx AKxxx AQJ AQ, it's just too bad. But I think 7 is a big favorite to make.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is wrong with making a slam try and then bidding slam?

K, A, A and an extra card makes a grand in comfort. After 5 you can be fairly sure that partner doesn't have that so you bid 6.

After 4 by partner I am not stopping in 5 with the North hand.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1) Opener can show a 3-card suit. I used to play transfer over 1 and never felt that it gained much due to this reason. Does opener always show a 3-card suit? If so, that has the disadvantage of revealing unnecessary information to the opponents and sometimes it might wrongside a NT contract.
2) Doubler is on lead. I agree that this is an advantage of the transfers.

I do play transfer after 1M X and (1x) - 1M - (X).
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South has one of the worst possible hands he can have. This is a clear sign-off and then partner will know to pass.

From North's point of view a grand wasn't out of the picture, e.g. opposite K Axx Axx Kxxxxx - a perfect minimum.
Do you expect to accept a slam-try with, let's say x Qxx AQx KQxxxx?

I think I would have bid the North hand the same way. South simply didn't have his bid.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Arguments were made for playing XX as a conventional bid, because its not useful enough in its original meaning, e.g. after 1 - X - XX you will rarely collect a big number, so there is no need for a natural XX.

But somehow it's taken for granted that the extra bid will do something that is more useful than the natural XX.

For the sequence 1 - X playing transfers, when do you gain opposed to standard ?
April 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“You won't get rich redoubling 2 - X”.

If you collect 500 when you don't have a game or if you collect 1100 when you don't have a slam, then that's pretty much getting rich.
And that's certainly not impossible.
April 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner was confronted with this situation and passed.
This didn't work out well as I had Q10 AQ9xxxx Jx xx. I decided to not open 3 because I felt that this hand had a very bad offense/defense ratio for being 2nd seat vulnerable.

At the other table 3 was opened and slam was reached after a straightforward RKCB.
April 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The 10 does well here. Sometimes easy is best.
April 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Entering the bidding here was deadly. Partner held xx J97xx 9xx xxx. But perhaps not much you can do about it.
April 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They would lead the king from this holding. Opponents weren't particular aggressive players, but I think you can exclude KQ109xx with West.
April 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing these methods, I think nobody made a mistake. I would be concerned about missing a slam holding the West hand, but bidding does not look attractive either. Next time you make a move partner holds KQJxxx Q xxx AKx.
April 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dont' you have a loser?
April 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am sorry about this. 6 would have implied interest in a grand slam. I wasn't aware of this when I created the problem and couldn't really change it after people already voted.

At the table my partner simply bid 6, but if he had bid 6 I am quite sure that I would have bid 7 (as perhaps several others would do if 6 shows a positive hand).

Partner had: Ax QJxxx A9xx Qx.

RKCB would have worked out nicely here: On 4 kickback partner would have responded 5 and then I could have bid 6 grand-slam invite, bypassing specific asks for the -king (5) and -king(6), after which partner has good information to bid 7.
April 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think partner shouldn't bid this way holding 43(51), but you may be right that in practice partner might occasionally have this hand.
April 19
1 2 3 4 ... 7 8 9 10
.

Bottom Home Top