Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Donald Lurie
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
thx for all responses.
on this occasion, relative success came to those who chose to overcall (unlike me) as lho responded 3NT on a flat 14 +/-. It turned out to be important to direct a lead from partner (who held Kxx) as the 1 opener tabled about 14-count 4414 hand with stiff Jack of opposite Axx in declarer's hand. Declarer sweats but still comes to 9 tricks on a lead while any other lead gives him time to knock out the ace and come to 12 tricks with Qx of s falling (lose about 5 or 6 imps)
In retrospect, I wonder if the vote would have been different had the method of scoring been match points.
DHL
Sept. 14, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ya think the odds were that high?
Sept. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
pick-up opponents, asked, no answer: sorry
Sept. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ok
i was just thinking of acronym gosh: good one-suited hand
Sept. 8, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steve: if you cash C-A and then eventually lead club from the board (after 2 rounds of s, 3 rounds of spades and a ruff), you will have likely count that lho had (hypothetically) 7 s, 3 s, 1 , and 2 s. What do you play when rho tables the 9 on the 2nd round of clubs? Is it 3:2 that rho has king? or is there something I am failing to take into account?
Sept. 1, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually, his “more” was K, 43, AK32, KQ9643: not good enough for a reverse imo, but just needing even a partial stopper to have reasonable plays for 3NT. Was 3 too aggressive? That's why I asked what 3 meant?: a punt?, a partial stopper?, full stopper along with A less likely. It just seemed like the hand was worth one more try.
Sept. 1, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
RF, or should i say Sen R F,or the Distinguished Gentleman:
You're close to the actual companion hand.except for the major cards- you got the major distro correct but not the honors: dealer had xx in s and stiff K. So you offered that the OP hand should bid 3 over 3? (which is exactly what happened at the table. 3 got dbl - big surprise (not). My respectful question to you is: what does 3 mean? What is its purpose? What is it saying in words? Is it showing or asking or merely saying that she can't bid 3NT? or what? a partial stopper? what is it asking opener to do now? This was the issue/ topic of brief discussion that followed the hand. So we appreciate you feedback and insight. Tx
Aug. 31, 2019
Donald Lurie edited this comment Aug. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
correction. “It's good to be the King”
Aug. 29, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's good to be King!
Aug. 29, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
what is the difference between an agreement and “yes, dear?”
Aug. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
thx for the reference. is an abstract
Aug. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thx you all for all of your responses so far. I posted this to see whether or not, given the options of rkb, ebw, and 5N-pas, if GSF is totally deceased and buried. Or are there a few situations where it might be applicable?
There is a small backstory to this post/ survey. About 8 to 10 years ago, give or take, I was fortunate enough to play a few hands on BBO with a well-known younger WC champion. We had an interesting auction that began 1m - 1M and included a supt X (or was it a XX), a minor suit agreement, and an unexpected jump to 5NT. Never having met (and certainly never having played with or against him/ her), I wasn't sure whether 5NT was GSF or PAS. (I don't recall the bidding or the reason why.) I guessed incorrectly that it was PAS but my partner intended it as GSF, and explained to me that he/ she thought that it was fairly obvious. It probably should've been, but as usual I got the meaning wrong.
Then came the hand that triggered this poll. Realizing that my P didn't play 4 as rkb, i drew a blank on exactly what our agreement was for rkb. All I needed to know (or so I thought at 1 am - brain dead as usual, head swimming, eyes shot) was whether or not my P had 2 of the top 3 honors. So I trotted out 5NT, hoping for a GSF interpretation.
Works out I could've invented a fake 5 exl bid, (didn't think of it at the time- I admit it). I probably could have bid the whole hand better ( A3, AKQ85, A, A8743- could make this a bidding poll re opening 1 or 2 but won't). P had something like KT9, 97, 763, KQ965 - a perfecto. Do you respond 3H, 3D, 3S, 3N, 4C over 3C? What is 4N over 4C? etc etc).
So, I hope that I have answered the initial responder's question regarding what the point of the poll like this was. Is GSF now totally obsolete and never applicable, or are there certain situations where it could still apply? Is 5N now always PAS? Are there exceptions (such as xNT - 5NT?) The responses to this post/ survey is interesting: seems that some of you might still utilize it in certain situations. I must admit that I wasn't aware that “so few use GSF any more”.. Nice to know.

Keep the responses coming.
Aug. 25, 2019
Donald Lurie edited this comment Aug. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Please be so kind as to provide/ cite the reference. I would love to see the study/ data/ report. i have some background in psych assessment among other related things.
Thx in advance.
Aug. 25, 2019
Donald Lurie edited this comment Aug. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
assume natural, little to no interest in s, good s
Aug. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just as an add-onto this discussion of the meaning of a pass: instead of pass, what would 2 by advancer mean? Is it natural or could it be showing a little something in hand and be asking the MCB hand to clarify his/her hand. (sort of like a 2 response to 2 Landy/ Multilandy) If nothing else, that makes the 5-5 + hand declarer and potentially “protects” the K. just a thought. This was a pass implies minimum interest in a major but still leaves room open for advancer to do something over 2M should further action be suggested by advancer's hand. Granted, this option would not be available if the MCB was in s but…….
Aug. 21, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
we do/ did not have much in the way of agreements about what pass (demanding xx or a wish to play 2x), an immediate 2M, etc would mean. I, personally believe that a bid of 2 instead of XX need not show 6 (sort of like a cue after partner makes a takeout X of 1m says bid ur better major, with equal bid s- but that's me - 6-5 in Ms never seems to work out well for me as a MCB).
I suspect east's initial pass was intended to mean no preference, but that subsequent bids sounded like 2-2 in majors- again, that's me). after all, how often does this sequence of a balancing MCB occur? that's why I'm not sure it was the better bid of 2 options (1 followed by s) being better. with my memory, i prefer the simpler option when possible.
i'm just not sure which is better, so I shall repost the west hand as a bidding poll.
Aug. 20, 2019
Donald Lurie edited this comment Aug. 20, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
your comment paragraphs 2 & 3 makes me realize that the question was not worded clearly. I was talking about XX vs 2H by the hand that made the 2-suited major bid, not advancer. Thx for helping me see that. Hope it clarifies for others.
Aug. 20, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for the responses. I'm not sure this hand, rule of 20 or not, is a 1 opener. I'd almost prefer a 2 opener to 1 (OK, so I lied about suit length but not about ODR) But to open and/ or what to open was not the reaason why I posted this hand. (We have ways to show 2-suited hands after initially passing.)

The main reason for posting this hand was to hopefully get feedback on whether or not a double after the Ogust 2NT bid (which often implies trump support), should be played as a more 2-suited/ Michaels' type hand as opposed to a light takeout such as 1444 prototype. My P & I had never discussed this but both thought it should be MIchaels'.
However, it all turned out to be academic as rho rebid 3 (good/good) over the double, and the opponents got to the normal 4 contract. (Normal on BBO often means you lose between 2 and 4 imps when the opps bid and make a game.)
The discussion then raised the question of, if a double of 2NT should be MIchaels", then what should an immediate 3 bid be (you didn't open 2 to start with: I usually think such types of bids should be 2-suited or else you wouldn't have initially passed). And, if it's Michaels, should 3 by partner be pass/correct?
Anyway, thanks in advance to anyone who is willing to share their valued wisdom on all this.
TIA/ DHL
Aug. 18, 2019
Donald Lurie edited this comment Aug. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for the votes. Not quite what I expected, perhaps because 3 was not the action taken at the table. I wonder how many of you would have responded 4 if playing Leaping Michaels? The constraint of not playing Leaping Michaels' might have influenced votes on the above OP hand (the 5-7 hand) where the person holding that hand opted for 3 Q-bid (which I wasn't sure if it was 2-suiter or just asking for stopper given the fact that we could not agree to play leaping michaels'). The companion hand, holding KJT and Qx found a 4H response and we stumbled into 5x making after the opps competed to 4- (opps could make mucho s). We were unsure about the best way to bid this 5-7 hand and both felt that we might be lucky to get a chance to introduce s below the 4 level: ie. get the 2-suiter in asap and take away the 3-level for responses to Ogust.

I also posted the hand a ! void, KQT74, KJT43, J43 in a separate OP, not so much to see how many would open the latter but, given the initial pass, what action people would take after the 2 - p - Ogust 2NT auction by the opponents both nv. One issue I was trying to get a sense of was whether or not a double of the ogust hand was still more Michaelish or could be closer to template 1444 (the latter questionable opposite a passed hand partner). Would those playing Leaping Michaels make such a bid on this auction. The answer to that is not clear from the other poll as the only comments offered so far were regarding not having initially opened the 5-5 hand 1. (A fair number of abstentions on that hand perhaps for that reason)

Thx all
DHL
Aug. 16, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is the companion hand to AJ7x, AKx, xx, xxxx where, so far, 94% of respondents have said they would make a takeout double of the 1st seat, vulnerable, weak 2 opening on their right.

From the responses and the limited written explanations so far, I am not sure how many of those of you said they would double 3 meant the dbl as penalty and how many meant it as takeout/ responsive. Unfortunate.
The other question I asked was whether or not a responsive double here promises 4-card support for both majors so that double might bid game in his better major with extras (instead of the mini t/o X he held. Hope for more suggestions.
How would you like to play 3N on these combined hands?
Thx
Aug. 5, 2019
.

Bottom Home Top