Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Caprera
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 128 129 130 131
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner has three queens. Which hand do you want to declare?
9 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg Kaplan dubbed him “Rock Star.” Deserved. The most amazing part is that he has been playing for only two years. I had always thought that bridge, unlike chess, didn't have young prodigies because it required experience. Finn is proving me wrong.
18 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It represents yet another example of the ACBL's basic marketing strategy, “Everybody wins.” Give them colored masterpoints, even add more and more colors (I hear next year they are introducing cranberry points) and they keep coming back.

That said, I like the format of a 2 day swiss playing down to 32. Having played in my share of the Monday groups of four, three qualify, in the Spingold and Vanderbilt, the swiss format is a much better way to get to 32.
Dec. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congrats. We played against Bob and Peter in the second round this evening. This was Bob Hamman. (Boards 9 and 10 of the NABC BAM second final if you are following in your hymnal.) On 9, Peter made the clear percentage play in a restricted choice situation in the club suit (knowing hearts were 6-2) but the gods were not kind. On board 10, Bob was in 3N; if he takes the finesse and it loses, he goes -300. Wins and he makes. Cash and he is down one. He has reason to believe the finesse fails. The clock ticks down to 13 minutes in the next round (not all their fault), the directors are hovering, he finally hooks and it loses. BUT BOB HAMMAN LOOKED ALL ALONG LIKE HE WAS WATCHING PAINT DRYING. (Does the guy really have ice water in his veins?) Both he and Peter made reasonable decisions that didn't work out. And they must have played damn well thereafter. I love that guy.
Dec. 3
David Caprera edited this comment Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You will never convince my partner you don't have a fifth heart (or more). Hope Kxx opposite QTxx at the three level plays well for you. Marty, you can borrow my couch.
Dec. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I confess I would make a 3C mixed raise and play 3D. Bidding is not a perfect science.
Dec. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can you imagine that prior to the start of a session all the North-South pairs yell “We are” and the East-West pairs respond “The ACBL.”
Dec. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The problem is that I bet this was not a bid made by an expert player in a real bridge game. I have trouble imagining what the 3C bidder has that he didn't bid last round.
Dec. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Our teammate at the other table thought it may be necessary to dislodge the DK before a diamond could get pitched on the HQ. Give declarer 6=2=3=2 for example. He cashed DA and could no longer give partner the 2 heart ruffs needed to set the contract. At our table they played standard carding and East played the HJ at trick one. WTP?
Dec. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry. Fixed.
Dec. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit, funny you should post this hand today. In the Soloway tonight we had the equivalent auction: 1D-(1N)-DBL-(2H alerted as transfer - certainly there are better runnouts than ‘system on.’ Comment.)

Opener passed and the 1N bidder took the transfer. I am curious as to thoughts as to what is the best use of double by responder or opener and through what bid are you in a force.

(FYI. Our rules are “force only through 2H”, “second direct double through 2H takeout”, other doubles “card showing.”)
Dec. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing a limited opening bid system, we just bid 1N. We are going to lose some tricks somewhere. Besides, we got there first which is relevant when white. For that matter, perhaps double (spades? not spades? how many spades?) should vary depending on vulnerability.
Nov. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Precision 2D (~4414). But if I were playing standard, I would play multi (no strong option). White, 2H both majors weak and 2S S+m; vul 2M “good weak two bid.”
Nov. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In junior bridge, all doubles are takeout. It depends on the population you sample.
Nov. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When you make a limit+ bid and the opponents bid above your game before partner gets to vote, you should be in a force. That way both partners get to participate in the competitive decision. Defending 4S undoubled is rarely correct. It requires both that they make 4S and you go for more than their game when you have the preponderance of the strength.
Nov. 28
David Caprera edited this comment Nov. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have often thought the same about (1H)-DBL-(1S)-DBL played as “responsive”. I think pairs with such an agreement should be required to wear a red bullseye on their forehead that says, “ ok to psych 1S.” But before you do so, how do youfind out how the opponents play this sequence?
Nov. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How do I get you all to move to Colorado where housing is affordable, traffic is manageable and you can ski in November?
Nov. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
5 feet, 7 inches?
Nov. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I totally agree in principal but a transfer of 3C to show diamonds, followed by a heart bid is an improvement. The hand is far too good for a 4D FJS but not good enough to set trump and bid KCB.
Nov. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know the standard answer is penalty. But I believe that on a percentage basis, a freely bid and raise to 2M is not likely to go for a number and a double should be takeout. Bring on the non law abiding naysayers. I feel pretty certain about this.
Nov. 27
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 128 129 130 131
.

Bottom Home Top