Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Boxley
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's what I would have bid without the double.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You stole my answer Richard. I assume you meant you expect spade shortage for the double.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yeah, I rarely have an ace for a 2-level WJS. Actually, I think it is too good for the bid, could easily miss a game.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Don't be so wishy-washy Richard. :)
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass = minimum without club support. Double would be penalty.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If it were not artificial 4SFG I would of course bid 2 and rebid 3. I would rather get to game going down than miss a laydown game. If it is 4SFG then 3 should be invitational at least 55. ???
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If partner thought I could make 4 with this he would have bid it.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have opened 1 and rebid 4 which I would not consider showing extras. I'm not the one who made the neg dbl so it's not my problem, partner should be able to handle it (or not).

Addendum:
Actually, I would never open that hand, but if forced I would open 1 rather than 1.
Aug. 23
David Boxley edited this comment Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Another good Gazzilli hand.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like your “about me” :)
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't see any reason why it should show diamonds, especially if you play that 3 previously would be only invitational.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've heard that somewhere before.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's tempting, but no.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I guess I'm nitpicking but I don't think your example is a minimum raise. Kxxx QTx xxxx xx would be but probably a lot of people wouldn't consider that a raise although I would. But it's certainly not if playing constructive raises.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, the 4th heart looks like an extra trick to me.
Aug. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard's comment made sense to me, TO CONDONE.
Aug. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
yada yada yada …
Aug. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's your prerogative but I expect partner to have 2 tricks to leave it in, either both in trump or a promote-able trump after leading his singleton heart. He certainly wouldn't leave it in with only one possible trump trick and a doubleton heart. He can hear the bidding too.
Aug. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Using the LTC method which I learned, this is a 10 trick hand. I realize that may be an over-simplification but I don't carry a slide rule with me to the table.
Aug. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, that's true but it is not what you are playing. I believe this hand is the definition of mixed raise. What would you consider a mixed raise if not this?
Aug. 21
.

Bottom Home Top