Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Boxley
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why did your partner bid 2? I think 2 by a passed hand should be a raise (or at least Hx) with 5 s in which case 4 should be a good spot. Partner shouldn't have to bid his hand again.
April 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1. the DONT bidder is on lead
2. they may not be able to make anything else
3. I like our chances for 500 vs 2
4. 3NT may not make our way

That's why
April 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But isn't a forcing pass saying the same thing? Assuming you are not playing your system.
April 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It has to be right to pull 1NT with the stiff and 2 is definitely the most flexible call. I think a good agreement would be for responder to always take a preference without 5 s. That is, of course, unless your partner has a tendency to open 1 on 45 in the minors, which I hate.
April 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The Culbertson Rule says 4H.
April 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
removed
April 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is 4 limited by my non-xx?
April 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3, tolerance for clubs since I am passed.
April 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why would I bid 4? So I can play a 5-1 fit?
April 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree, if 2 is waiting (GF) then 3NT either is some agreed upon specific hand or doesn't exist.
April 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like that approach but we were not playing any version of xyz or 2way nmf.
April 17, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If 5NT is undiscussed then I'm sure all of the other esoteric slam sequences are also.
April 17, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the 's are way too good for dbl.
April 14, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm afraid if I bid partner will play me for a 5 (or 6) bagger depending on the level.
April 14, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, if it was (were?) too ridiculous for words why did you comment? If partner has the right cards…
April 14, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner will strain to reopen dbl as he knows I have a stack. If he has a big dist hand then he also can see the colors. I certainly don't want to give him any reason to rebid unless he has lots of them. BTW, I say “he” because I was raised that way and I never want to be accused of being PC (neither does my wife).
April 14, 2017
David Boxley edited this comment April 14, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why does 4 have to mean pick a M? What would I bid with and neither M?
April 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Never discussed this auction, is this a control showing situation or a “round out my distribution” one?
April 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I completely agree, is the safest lead as any other lead puts back in the same trick bag later.
April 11, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I was in college I used to direct a small country club weeknight game in a nearby town in which the players were all basically novices. One night toward the end of the first round a North player called me to the table stating that someone had scored on their line on the traveller. Obviously they had played the same board twice with none of the four players recognizing the hand. The North player didn’t even recognize his own handwriting. To make it a really great story, NS reached a worse contract the second time they played it.
April 7, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top