Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Danny Sprung
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 73 74 75 76
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If Cheryl predicts the whole bracket perfectly, she should get both prizes, like a double showcase winner on ‘The Price is Right’.
May 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Like using the donut in the on deck circle. Once you have played 60 per day for 8 days, 48 will seem much easier.
May 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Closer to serious than the vote indicates. I would need to know more about 3. It says shows extras, but does it suggest 4 spades? If it does suggest 4 spades AND extras, this hand is worth a serious slam try IMO, and as stated above, I would never bypass a club control to sign off regardless of the rest of my hand.

If 3 just shows about a strong NT without suggesting 4, then 4 is plenty.
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We also use the 2 response to show a light invite in spades; correcting hearts to spades, or raising to 3 if partner is longer in spades. This would make passing 2 even worse.
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Stern, Goodell and Bettman all know far more about their sports than any non ACBL member would know about bridge.
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 is bad for slam hands, since it is in essence, a splinter. For game decisions that won't matter as much. At matchpoints it seem automatic to open 2; at IMP's I might be more tempted to open 1
April 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard: I hope you wear the bow tie in your picture whenever you play. Then I will know it is you, and be sure to make a claim that can't possibly be questioned.
April 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard: Would you award the defense a trick if declarer wins trick one holding A, AKQJT9876542, void, void; and claims without a statement?
April 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From James's quote they are giving declarer 3 tricks with AK5. How is that different from AK2? I guess you are thinking about the OP; I was responding to Richard. Or you were.
April 26
Danny Sprung edited this comment April 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It wouldn't occur to me to:

1. Look for a trick as defender.
2. Rule for the defense as a director
April 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe modified Shapiro would be better. Open 5NT with those hands :)
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I prefer specific major. You never guess wrong when partner doubles. When you are desperate, you lead the other major.

Quick story. I was playing an IMP pairs Calcutta years ago. 3d board we bid 1NT-3NT. Our opponent guesses to lead a short major (no tempo issues) and hits his partner's major, down 1 or 2. We open the traveler, and see Mike Kamil played 3NTxx making 6 at the first table. We were basically 30 IMP's behind the best player in the event on board 3, and knew it…
April 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or might hit my major…
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit: That would be true if the only hands you open 3 with are hands that would open 3 even with a weak 2 available. If there are hands that this partnership will choose 3 that would normally have opened 2, therefore making your range for 3 wider, I believe you owe the opponents that information, when asked specifically about style.
April 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The first hand, your proper announcement is ‘could be short’. When asked, I think the appropriate response is something like 11-15 if balanced, could be lighter with shape.

The second hand is clearly no alert, but I would always indicate that no weak 2 was available, when asked about style. This is a hand type that might open 2 if that was a natural weak 2.

I would be very unlikely to have sympathy for an experienced player who claims damage from the second hand. I ‘always’ look to see if 2 is natural when they open 3
April 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Two things that add to the trick total:

Internal solidity and voids. We have both here.
April 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Because he had Aces in the other side su…oh never mind.
April 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I could bid 1NT.
April 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The more partner doubles, the stronger his hand is, therefore perfect shape becomes less important with each double. ELC or not, what is partner supposed to do with 2452 and 21 HCP?
April 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Transfers, anybody?
April 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 73 74 75 76
.

Bottom Home Top