Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Christopher Monsour
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oh, a reference to Cameron rather than to May. Hard to imagine that seems like ancient history and yet here were are still in Act II (Scene xlviii).
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Edgar Kaplan must be getting out of his grave to vote on this one!
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm confused by your Brexit example, since May was opposed to Brexit and is trying to implement it only because of the result of the referendum.

Or perhaps you meant it as a negative example?
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After 4N-5-, unfortunately 5, though it asks about Q and the side-suit kings, does not guarantee possession of all the keycards. 5NT would guarantee possession of all the keycards and also of the Q. So here I suppose we could improvise 4N-5-5-6-6-7N.
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You could even broadcast North and South each to East and West and vice versa.
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To prevent CAS from enforcing reinstatements, those sanctions may need to be lethal.
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Did I really agree I can't open this hand with a 1 bid?
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It wouldn't be my choice on this hand, but other readers may wonder whether 3 is available as pass-or-correct.
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And that's just the cases when declarer has two hearts. It's even better for him when he just has one.
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unless his hearts are AKQ, he is never guessing my trumps are headed by the jack. So I don't think he is going to be able to judge well; certainly he has no clue it might be a 5 or 7 hand.
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't see how my bidding 5 will induce partner to bid 7 lacking the Q and only 6 when he holds it!
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I hope partner's hand looks something like xx KQxx xxxx AQ10. I lead a trump.
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They doubled because one of them has at least four clubs and four spades. I think you meant to ask why partner doubled.

As for what partner's hand looks like, you neglected to tell us how much pass limited his hand by taking the precaution of giving us your opening bid standards only for 4th chair and not for 2nd.
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You haven't worked in the corporate world, have you? Not only do people not think about what acronyms stand for, they can't even tell you when prompted to do so. :)
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Surely with this hand I intended to ignore the first sign-off and show my four-card major? Yes, I do realize that is partner has four spades then he likely has only two hearts, but (a) this isn't inherently unlikely…there's no reasons the opponents can't have a 4-4 heart fit, and (b) what was partner supposed to bid with a 4333 7 count? Risk a 7-card fit? Or wimp out with 2?
April 8
Christopher Monsour edited this comment April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Assumes facts not in evidence.
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner needs to know at least 2 of 3 things: club count, diamond count, Q. We can tell him at most 1 of these 3 things with any reliability….
April 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I always thought 3rd and low was just opening lead. Later count leads are highest-you-can-afford or lowest (or, in the rare cases you need to retain an exit card, lowest-you-can-afford).
April 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I pass, but if I don't pass I bid 7. 6 would be a tragic call. This is likely a 5 or 7 hand. They lead a spade and either you draw trump and run diamonds to take them all or you lose a trick in each major.
April 7
Christopher Monsour edited this comment April 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree it's natural, but is partner expecting a hand like AKx KQ10x Q10 AJ10x or a hand like Ax KQxx Ax K109xx? How much do you need to hold to force slam over 4 ? If you are promising 19, you can hold out for a good 21 or more. If you are promising 16, you might have to bid 6NT with most 20s.
April 7
Christopher Monsour edited this comment April 8
.

Bottom Home Top