Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Christopher Monsour
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To borrow from a lacrosse slogan: Ruff, tuff, buff.

OK, maybe that would have worked better for bridge 50 years ago than today!
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That doesn't help when you don't want opener correcting back to hearts even if he has four of them!
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, I guess I don't understand why you'd prefer to rebid 2 if you had responded 1NT (in 2/1) but not if you had responded 2 in a non-2/1 context with non-forcing 2 and 3 rebids. After all, partner can always correct to clubs with three of them after 1-2-2red-2, whereas 1-1NT-2red-2 buries the clubs.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thinking about fish made me realize that the most effective form of doping in bridge would be what you slip into the other guy's coffee…. Let's see if WADA can figure out how to govern that!
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steve, you are mixing the Basic and Open Charts. Pete is correct about a 2 opening on the Open Chart. You can have it be any hand with average strength or better and a 6-card major, if you like, for example. Or any hand of average strength or better with 5 hearts and a 4+ minor. Or any three-suiter of average strength or better.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's OK. He can't count his fee properly either.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also, @John, it is NOT *obligatory* to open 1NT with 60 on. If you have a 5-card major, you surely should open the major instead, to give responder a choice between raising and bidding 1NT himself.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What are the qualification of the committee, Eduard, on doping in *mind sports*?
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I assume you would rebid 2 even with this hand if it were matchpoints?
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
James, all they are allowed to say proactively is 13-17. If you want complete information, ask, as with any bid.
March 14
Christopher Monsour edited this comment March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You really ought to tell us what 1-3 and 1-2-2-3 would have been, so we know what 3 here would mean, strength-wise. With your agreements as described, 2 is clear because at least partner knows what it means!
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you have a read on LHO? If he looks interested in his hand, bid 4. If he looks bored, bid 2NT.
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What information are you referring to, Wayne?
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Eduard, I think we can support whatever your country requires your national bridge organization to comply with. That is no reason for the *World* Bridge Federation to comply with WADA nor to enforce it on other countries.
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
People who don't use inverted minors and use the jump raise as limit have to respond in a three-card major to start a forcing raise.

I don't understand wanting to respond to 1 in three-card major when you are weak with, say, seven clubs. Doing so will certainly prevent you from bidding 3 later on after the opponents settle comfortably in two of your singleton. (Imagine holding x Kxx xx KJxxxxx and responding 1 only to have LHO bid 1 and RHO raise to 2!)
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To quote Edgar, will LHO double 3 to remind himself what to lead?
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What I play over a 3 opening has the disadvantage of being much more complex (and of not being able to look both for 3NT and for a major-suit game), but the advantage of always making responder declarer in 3NT opposite a good suit.
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
James, keep in mind that some people who play 2/1 and announce 13-17 may be playing the same NT range as people who announce 15-17. It's just that they decided that they upgrade for long suits often enough that they should make an announcement that explicitly allows for that. So I am guessing many 2/1 players who announce 13-17 would open that hand 1.
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Alerts are for unusual calls. A 13-17 NT that has shape restrictions for part of the range is just to be expected. (Seriously, who plays a full five point range?) It doesn't warrant an alert. You will of course get an explanation if you ask. Kxx AQxx Kxx Qxx is a 1 opening in Blue Team despite 13-17, and it's an optional 1 opening for many Precision pairs who play 12-15. You can inquire and expect a full explanation. You can't expect the announcement to be anything more than “13-17” or “12-15”. If you don't like that, the proper thing to do is not to file a recorder but to ask the ACBL to change its rules.

There is also nothing wrong with a pro opening 1NT and a client opening 1 on the same hand if the 1NT opening and 1NT rebid ranges overlap, just as there is nothing wrong, playing South African transfers, with the pro responding 4 and the client responding 4 on the same hand.
March 12
Christopher Monsour edited this comment March 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe this has been asked and answered and the answer is that the USBF is a member of / affiliated with the WBF and that the ACBL is not in any way associated with the WBF.
March 12
.

Bottom Home Top