Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Christopher Monsour
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The old “I'd prefer not to play Bergen raises, but even if I agree to, I'll never agree that 1-2 denies four-card support.” (By the way, I'd also never agree that 1-(X)-3 promises four-card support.)
March 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's not so bad when it's clubs. When LHO has a trump stack, RHO rescues you.
March 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If 3 is an overbid, then 3 doesn't exist. If South had more hearts, he wouldn't have bothered doubling spades, and if he had more strength, he'd've opened. What else can 3 be?
March 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think you lose 2000 for being down ONE redoubled.
March 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does this means that if you hold Axx KJxxx xx xxx, you rebid 2 after 1-1-2?
March 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, I would have jumped if RHO had passed and I still jump. I think a jump shows 8 points and five trumps with a small doubleton on the side seems like it's worth an extra point here, given that the high cards all appear to be working.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I understand that. I thought you were saying it changes the inference in the OP's auction.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the rebid is 1NT to show clubs, don't you have enough room to accommodate both 4-5 and 5-4, and use 2 to show a diamond rebid? I mean you already avoid the 4-2 fit by allowing partner to bid his 3-card minor after 1NT.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I open 1 intending to raise diamonds or spades and to rebid 2 over 1. I hate rebidding 1NT with a small singleton in partner's suit. I'll pretty much only do that if I am allowed to raise a major to 2 on any non-4333 hand with three-card support. I think small singleton and reasonable three-card support is too wide a range (of possible support) for the 1NT rebid. Obviously, if you play transfers over 1 you may have a much easier time accommodating a 1NT rebid with a singleton, depending on how you use the transfer completion.

1 then 2 is only a workable strategy in a limited opening system where partner can invite or pass with 4=4=2=3 or 3=5=2=3. If he might have to make a false preference to diamonds to keep the auction open, it's very dangerous.
March 16
Christopher Monsour edited this comment March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steve, the problem in Precision has nothing to do with the problem in Standard. In Precision, 1-1-2 could be 3=5 (1=4=3=5), so it's really never 5=4…you rebid diamonds over 1 with that!

After a 1 response you might rebid 2 in Precision with 4=5 or 5=4, since you'll never be 3=5. However, you'll never have 16+ points and, in related news, you are very unlikely to be 6=4. Thus, partner never has to make a false preference on 2=3, which is the source of all those ridiculous 4-2 fits in standard.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We're looking at the K. Is it really likely partner would have bothered to saw off 1 when holding hearts enough to jump in if his spades were only queen-high? Maybe they will still engineer a spade ruff, but it won't be easy…I very much doubt it will be spade to ace and a spade back.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without the A, yes. Missing one of the other aces, he would likely have opened 1NT.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Change the A to a small diamond and East would bid the same way. 3 was a clear underbid with the actual hand.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't see how it changes the inference here. Playing your methods, North should have bid 2. Playing standard methods, he should have bid 2.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think we're asking the wrong question. What on God's green earth does North need to bid 2 last round?
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many court cases turn on statistical evidence, from civil rights cases to tort cases where quality control is in question. This is not an insurmountable barrier, especially for a real (not sports) arbitration panel.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Which cue bid is clubs? 2 or 3? :)
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Having played 2/1 with many partners, in my experience that hand is always in range for the 3 rebid, just a question of whether it's a max or a min within the range. So I would bid 1-1NT-2-3 at IMPs. I would rebid 2 at matchpoints, though.

However, when I play your style, I would bid 1-2-2-2 regardless of the form of scoring.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was also going for the double-irony that surely some of the substances on the prohibited list are performance-inhibiting at bridge.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wonder whether Cosby played bridge?
March 15
.

Bottom Home Top