Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Christopher Monsour
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why should ALL international bridge competitions comply with IOC rules?

For that matter, I don't understand why people think that other international team competitions, even in the Olympics, only have one representative per country. This may be true for events that require large teams, but it is NOT true for ice dancing, for pairs figure skating, for bobsledding, etc. (The first time I heard the phrase “USA2” was as a boy watching the Winter Olympics on television.)
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have to admit my jaw dropped when I saw that Rosenberg was playing in the Seniors. I do realize that he is a few years older than I am, but still…that made me feel old.
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Prior to bidding 4, responder hadn't promised more than a 6 count or so. To look for slam he needs something more like an opening bid, so, contrary to your assertion, in fact 4 promised a boatload of extras per se. Opener on the other hand already has a fairly narrowly defined range (and for many of us, this hand is not at the bottom of said range) with exceedingly good trumps. 4 in no way does this hand justice.
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Filler to replace poor analysis by me.
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Note that I would have no problem with a 2NT rebid on this shape, but I infer this partnership would consider it out of range on points. Still and all, I think the 3NT rebid needs to be much more sharply defined (even a narrower range…I prefer 16-17, which makes the example hand an easy 2NT…and maybe one should downgrade by a point for the singleton spade and settle for 2NT anyway).
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It would not even have occurred to me to jump to 3NT with responder's unbalanced hand. 3 seems easy enough, appropriately conveying the club length and leaving enough space below 3NT to not have to worry about getting past it when it's right.
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This feels like more than a minimum 3 bid to me (which is why I am bidding 5 and not just Last Train). If I were sure this partnership used Last Train and that partner would bid in tempo over Last Train, I would bid 4 anyway to give partner a chance to ask for keycards. But those seem like big IFs, hence 5.
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So is the second signal in a suit count again for that suit (which partner already knows) or count for some other suit?
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I pass, but I'd probably bid 5 at IMPs.
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You might want an option for “I would have opened 1NT”.
Oct. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The accepted KS (or at least KS Updated approach…Kaplan's notes from the early 70s) is actually to rebid 1 on the lesser hand when your spades are this much better than your diamonds. Partner will pretty much never raise this to 4 since raising to 3 would be forcing (after which you would have to bid 4 to let him in on the joke).
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
AJxxx Axxx xx xx gives 4 reasonable play, and partner probably wouldn't even have opened that. 6 seems remote, so 4 is what's left.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was going to mention that it can happen in a situation like this that the score should be adjusted (North could have known the long delay before the discard could be deceptive) even though North did nothing unethical (i.e., was thinking about the rest of the hand, not intending to deceive). However, the rest of his hand suggests he had nothing much at all to think about, so this actually looks pretty unethical.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you frequently open 9 counts you might feel differently. :)
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the Bermuda Bowl format itself is mostly OK. However, I think it should be up to the zones whether they want to allow multiple teams from the same country. Then NA could hold a unified trials and send 3 US teams and no Canadian teams, or the reverse, depending on who does well in the trials. Europe might end up sending multiple teams from Poland and/or Italy (in some years), etc.

The one thing I would change about the BB is the RR format. All matches should be stopped two boards before completion and the last day should be one very long session with a BaM style movement to complete each match. It would increase the fireworks and reduce the opportunities for dumping.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Doesn't 4 mean “I have honorless length here–please value heart shortness”? It seems like the important message. You can correct clubs to diamonds after partner chooses the level.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does “minimum” mean 11-12 or 12-15 or what? It's difficult to answer this without knowing that.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I won't say it can't ever be right to bid 6 here, but it depends upon facts not in evidence. If East is an aggressive bidder or hesitated about reopening, for example, then 6 would be a bad idea, because you may already be well above average to be in 4.

Also, if you are going to bid slam, why not 6? There's no reason to think partner's heart support is as good as his club support. At least give him the option to play 6 with 3=4 or 3=5 in the round suits.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you are playing ERKBC, and this isn't ERKBC, then maybe you should stop playing ERKBC because it won't ever come up for you.

For what it's worth, I always warn partners who insist on playing ERKBC that they should reserve the bid for when it's absolutely clear, even to me. This one passes that test.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, I don't know what else to do with this hand, as I strongly prefer not jump-shifting on fake suits (especially majors). I'd really prefer a forcing 3 rebid with this and having to rebid 1 with AKJ Qx x AJ109xxx, but that's just to say that I like the KS treatment here.
Oct. 5, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top