Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Christopher Monsour
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Another possible outcome is that the league decides that the premature match is not the finals match and that team A and team B agreed to fix the finals match by agreeing to forfeit it if they lost the premature match and met each other in the finals.

Sounding familiar?
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would also guess you overrate your own ability to write when you write things like “Guess I overrates others ability to read what I write (or mean).”
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even if you want to stick to talking about psyching against beginners, the fact that the rest of the quote you provided is so ridiculous is relevant, since it undermines the authority of the portion of it that you were appealing to.
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was responding to the previous comment (yours, in fact), which was not solely about beginners. Threads have a natural tendency to meander. That's why they're called “threads”. Or do you not understand metaphors?
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ACBL is off-base as usual. Psyching to create action is not only legal but an important potential tactic in the last round of barometer events (and, to a lesser extent, in a team match where one is trailing substantially).

Contention for the event is also a ridiculous criterion. (Never mind, unless it's a barometer event, how would you know?) I remember about 12-15 years ago in the last round of a (non-barometer) stratified pairs event when my partner psyched (causing massive confusion, and eventually leading to a somewhat above average board for us)…We were in contention for overalls, and maybe even for second, but probably not for first. Opponents complained that *they* were in contention for first and we should not have psyched against them if we were only trying for a good overalls showing. We asked how this could be possible since (now that the event was over and scores after the penultimate round were posted) it turned out we were better placed than they were before the final round. They replied they meant first in B. I went completely speechless as I could not think of a sufficiently condescending response. (And I still can't. Suggestions would be appreciated!)
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Suppose team A plays the premature match with team B and loses. Team B then defeats team C in the semifinals. Team A then tries to schedule the finals match with team B and says that the other match was just a friendly. How should the league rule?
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's also possible that someone on team B has a deep dislike of team C and wants to avoid playing them unless they really, really have to….
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If team A agrees to the arrangement and team B lose to team A, I strongly suspect team B won't even play team C but forfeit the match instead. Time seems to be a very limited commodity for them.
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, of course. The appeals might even be about completely different issues.
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree, but your advice seems quite a bit different (especially in terms of how worried you should be about two-level lead-directing doubles) from what you said in the thread here: http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/avoid-the-danger/?cj=314280#c314280 where the danger of an effective redouble by opener was equally operative.
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What do you think of J opening lead, which on the actual hand puts declarer to a trick one guess?

I assume declarer, if faced with that, should take the trick one hook, since the odds of a useful discard on the A, even if the finesse loses, are very high.
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's a doubtful outcome. More likely they would have gloated.
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If responder's minors were reversed, would you plan on rebidding 2 followed by 3NT, to avoid a lead directing double?
April 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is always the possibility (which I think many may have assumed when answering the question) that 3NT was a slam try rather than natural.
April 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Team A has the distinct disadvantage of possibly having to spend one additional afternoon or evening away from their loved ones than they intended when they signed up for this event. That seems pretty clear and important. They can agree if they want to, but it would hardly be rude of them to refuse.
April 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peter, obviously you don't understand psychs if you think they are not part of a battle of wits.
April 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Classic thing you need to discuss: When there is a singleton in dummy in the opening lead suit in a suit contract, is 3rd hand's signal attitude or suit preference.
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How about if there is no agreement, but 2NT bidder is hoping his partner will be able to “work it out” from the auction as a whole and his own hand? It would seem to me no alert is required then…but of course one of the difficulties with BBO and with screens is that it's not entirely clear what explanation one should give when one tries something like this. “I hope he will work it out” seems to be the standard one.
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you really want to piss off a psycher who has a pet psych, pull that person's pet psych when playing in a national event against a member of the BoD.
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Brad, the club level is the one level of the game where it is clearly impossible to ban psychs, because the standard of play is such that you wouldn't be able to tell the psychs from the misbids….
April 8, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top