Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Christopher Monsour
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Then still not eleven sequences. There are either eight or thirteen sequences depending on whether opener is allowed to bid 3NT instead of bidding step one. Assuming he is, here are the thirteen:
1-2-3NT
1-2-2NT-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3-3-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3-3-3NT
1-2-2NT-3-3-3NT
Jan. 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There's nothing inappropriate about asking about the auction in passout seat. In fact, passing without asking *almost automatically conveys UI* (that, e.g., you would not have doubled the final contract even if the opponents' bids had meant other than what they actually meant).

The problem with what the actual West did was to call attention to a particular suit rather than to say “Please explain each others' bids to me”.
Jan. 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Counter-proposal: Let's allow unlimited re-redoubles.

It would certainly be nice to be able to make an SOS re-redouble given some of my aggressive attempts at penalties.
Jan. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I seem to recall that when I heard these stories in the 1970s the respective computer results were “The vodka is strong, but the meat is rotten” and “invisible idiot”. But of course there are lots of funny ways of messing about a translation.
Jan. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree, it's not very workable until you get comfortable with the idea that the world won't end if you open good balanced 15s with 1.
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One other possibility for 3 is a game try with a diamond fit. But in that case, East has an accept, so the 4 bid is still not permissible.

I suppose in a club game East could argue that West isn't imaginative enough to do anything except pass if he thought 3 was to play, so that the 3 bid itself woke him up, but I think one can only accept that argument from a player of very poor standard.
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The original post does define the abbreviations (and there does not appear to be any notation that says it has been edited) so perhaps people should be reading more carefully rather than complaining.
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And yes, that means we open 1 with a good balanced 15 and no 5-card major even though *with* a five-card major and a balanced hand we would open the major even with 16… (And with 4-4 in the pointeds we might well open 1 with a good 15 if the hand were suit-oriented.)
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without disagreeing with any of this analysis, I have found 13-15 playable (in 1st-2nd vulnerable) in some partnerships. However, the range ended up morphing to 12+-15-, and we have the advantage of 1 promising 3 when vulnerable, so responder is fairly free to sign off in 3 with a 5-bagger, since it would be very unlikely that a 1NT opener would have a doubleton club when opening 1 showing 3+ diamonds and allowing responder to look for a major-suit fit was also an option. (No, we don't play that 1NT denies a 4-card major–in fact we have to open 1NT with 4=4=2=3 in range–but of course when there is an option of whether to open 1 or 1NT you consider how suitable the hand is for play in s or a major and also whether you are concerned to shut out the opponents or not.)
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
He probably has to check the CC to know whether it's in red. But even that doesn't work, because not everyone's CC is printed in color, and, even if it is, it may not have been printed since the latest updates to alert rules.
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Minimum offshape takeout doubles” is pretty ambiguous. I check the box if I am playing that converting to after doubling does not imply extras (but in other respects the double is standard). However, someone whose overcalls promise less than a takeout double and always starts with a takeout double with an opening-hand overcall would also check the same box…
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Eliminating also many unbalanced 16s from 1, especially if s or s are the primary suit, is even better….
Dec. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you play a 15+ strong 1 in first and second seat, do you really keep the same range in third and fourth, or move it up to 17+ there?
Dec. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I am playing this version of Jacoby, then I can't use it with a hand that wants to invite but not force slam opposite a dead minimum. Clearly this hand doesn't want to force slam (nor force slam modulo a keycard check). If I wanted to invite slam opposite a dead minimum, I should have responded 2. So Pass seems to be the only consistent action.
Dec. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If notrump ranges are announced (where you play) when a 1NT opening is made, then pre-alerting a variable notrump seems like a superfluous waste of time.
Dec. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The other plusses to asking for a ruling under Law 73F:
(1) You might actually get the score adjusted;
(2) If you do still file a recorder, a director will have been called to the table, and his assessment of the situation will be available to the Recorder.
Dec. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you are going to do that, surely it makes more sense over 1 to have 2 show hearts and 2 be Drury?
Dec. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It would be nice to have video of the opponent who is on the other side of the screen. The video screen could be angled so that his partner could not see it. Although I like screens in general, I dislike not being able to read both opponents' gestures and expressions.
Dec. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There are also some players who are simply much more pleasant to play with if you can't see their facial expressions when a hand doesn't go well….
Dec. 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kleinman may feel even more strongly than Gitelman about this, given that _Human Bridge Errors_ reserves some of its greatest scorn for two-way Drury.

In any event, there are two very useful treatments for P-1M-2N. One is that if 3 is needed as natural on account of playing Drury, then 2N can be a substitute fit-bid showing a raise with a side of clubs. If a natural 3 bid is not needed (e.g., you are playing Precision and such hands would have opened 2), then you can use 2M+1 as a consolidated mini-splinter and 2M+2 through 2M+4 as fit-jumps.
Dec. 16, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top