Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Christopher Monsour
1 2 3 4 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 233 234 235 236
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm going to ask for keycards, then kings. I think we probably belong in 6, but I may want to invite grand in case the opener psyched.
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have a very low ODR for my 2 rebid, so I will sit for any double partner makes.
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
86% of respondents don't think partner is making an absolute penalty double having previously made a takeout double. I agree. What is partner supposed to do with 4=3=2=4 and lots of extras? Why shouldn't I think 4 is making and 4 down 1 if we are lucky? Also, it's IMPs. Pass would have a whole lot more going for it at matchpoints.
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One wonders whether it might be better to have bridge-knowledgeable directors or committees rather than to have all rulings subject to massive sampling variation!!!
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you're going to bid, I think Ben's 3NT is the ticket.
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Opening 1 gains whenever it is a part score deal. And it doesn't lose unless you fail to bid game (unlikely) or they find a good sacrifice.

The likelihood they have a good sac is much likelier when your suit is hearts. Also, if your suit is hearts, opening 4 does not lose on partscire deals where they can make 3.
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What's double?
What does the 2 transfer show?
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Redouble with what hand? Redoubler's hand has not been given.
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Better = three trumps rather than two? :)
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That really has to be advancer, or psychic redoubles will kill you. Just as with (1NT)-X-(XX).
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you really want to play in clubs if partner doesn't bid them over the double?
April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the game Howard is playing in, assuming it is either Basic+ or Open Chart, opening in third seat on 7 hcp (unless the hand meets the rule of 17) better be a psych, because the alternative is that it would be an illegal agreement.
April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Deleted
April 3
Christopher Monsour edited this comment April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I should hope it says something about spades…denying FIVE of them!
April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Deleted
April 3
Christopher Monsour edited this comment April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oops
April 3
Christopher Monsour edited this comment April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But is it agreed that you can't raise with a doubleton?
April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seriously? I have run across more psychs in club games than anywhere else.
April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Changing comment…I forgot on this auction partner showed four diamonds, not three. LHO seems to think he has a powerful 1-suiter in clubs which combined with our 9+ card fit makes doubling for the +200 less appealing.

Doubling 2 was sensible. It was reasonable to think LHO was 2=3=3=5 and RHO 5=4=1=3 or the like and that they were completely stuck. It's hard to imagine doubling first in sandwich seat with a club one-suiter, rather than just bidding some appropriate number of clubs, but by now we have evidence that's what happened.
April 3
Christopher Monsour edited this comment April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To take it a step further, if you play five-card majors and a weak NT there's an even stronger case for double = 4 spades and 1 = 5+ spades. Not only can responder raise opener's minor with three much more freely than in strong NT systems, but also opener won't have a support double available (if the next hand acts) to distinguish 3-card from 4-card support, since opener's double would be cards in a weak NT system.

Playing strong NT, I prefer spades = spades and double suggests the unbid minor. It probably makes no difference vs swapping them in most cases, but “natural” is better competitively when opener wants to pass. (Obviously, when responder has spades this is only relevant if he was a passed hand.)
April 3
Christopher Monsour edited this comment April 3
1 2 3 4 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 233 234 235 236
.

Bottom Home Top