Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Charles Page
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So does this cause the effect of getting a bolter….ie over qualified for lower graded event and winning for the sponsor. It may work once or twice but a good director will see the pattern and can award MP's to exclude the player for the future. Could there be a general clause to the effect that if it is felt that you have under valued your true bridge ability by non disclosure of prior form there is a right for officials to make an adjustment to exclude as required. Used carefully this may achieve this result. At the end of the day sometimes you have to be subjective and make a decision. Look at horse racing…..the odd long shot gets up to win and if truly good will repeat the win in ongoing races but if it is just a lucky day…it happens! When was the last time a 100-1 shot won a triple crown ? What odds was Justify at any stage in the three races ? In Australian we have the Melbourne Cup, known as the race that “Stops the Nation” it is a handicap and the odd 100-1 horse gets up, about once in a blue moon ! The last 100-1 shot won no quality race subsequently

This a great idea to get to get a world wide handicapper or group thereof !
Sept. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Christopher, we have ceased getting lost going from A to B…
July 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Rather like asking my wife to navigate from A to B following the road on a map and getting lost…..praise the lord for we now have google maps….and I add “happy is the husband with a silent wife” to temporise a quote attributed to the Bible, Old Testament..
July 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From Wbf Director
The only issue here is the question regarding whether the 2S opening truly qualifies as a psyche. It certainly fulfills the Laws definition, i.e., “a deliberate and gross misstatement of honour strength and/or of suit length”. However it also needs to be an action that South “has no more reason than the opponents to be aware of” (Law 40C1). In other words, does North's deviation from partnership method have any underlying history?

I think South's decision to pass is a matter of style. Some Souths would certainly bid 3S whilst others would not. The Director's decision to take a poll was obviously an attempt to determine the status of South's pass and was probably founded upon a concern that South may very well have had prior knowledge of North's proclivities.

You also made mention of the action at another table involving X and Y. Here I am sure that there would be past partnership experience in respect to a 1S psych. Hence I would also be interested in how their later auction developed. ( P P 1S P 2S P P P)

As to the adjustment, if the Director deems that 2S is an infraction and damage has occurred, then any adjustment needs to be based on the probable outcomes on the board if South had alerted and disclosed the possibility of a psych. You are correct in that damage is only considered in situations where E/W would likely have obtained a superior result than the one they received at the table.

Finally, if 2S is considered to be an infraction (i.e., one requiring disclosure), then a further question arises in regard to whether there has also been a violation in regard to the systems permitted to be played in this particular event! If that were true, then a different type of adjustment would be appropriate - one based upon the probable outcomes if North had simply passed instead of bidding 2S.
July 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whilst all players polled said they would bid 3, none felt that S was fielding however. In addition no further action was taken by the director, the result was left to stand.
July 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The regulations where this event took place require that the psych must be reported by the player making the pysch and put in a register.
As N there was no special agreement with South on third seat openings. I play one game a year with that partner and never psyched with her before. East is aware I have psyched against him in other events previously.
East bid in tempo as did South and West
July 11
Charles Page edited this comment July 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The other question asked was “are EW damaged by the Psych when they get a 60% score on the board as it is for five off (+250) ?

Additionally What are the new WBF rules on the question of psyching
”Is it for the director to punish the psych bidder or to restore a position of what would of otherwise happened without the psych ?
July 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where the bid is legal, is the case in point….
July 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Australia
July 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ben, surely you can do better than post hearsay and anecdotal commentary ? …“from someone I trust…” Rather like a claim from a Bernie Madoff salesman
June 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As the organiser of the 5th Commonwealth Games, who facilitated the interview with Liam and President Rona, I sat through the interview and everything was open for discussion. No subject was off limits or ducked. In addition at the event there was another long filmed interview and a live radio broadcast. Have no doubt about this fact, President Rona cares and loves the game, like we all do. It is his so called disciples, being the players, who have cheated, and left him to clear up the mess.
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, the world has ended in Australia…we cheat at cricket…
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/bridge-down-under-aussies-come-through-again/#new_1

Attached is a link written by JoAnn Sprung with a comment by Barry Rigal.

When is it time for the ACBL to come and visit an event that continues to grow in size and is in receipt of such plaudits, especially Barry Rigal.

Honing ideas from around the Bridge must be good for your invidious role with the ACBL ?

Is there much to learn from the success of others ?

You may also want to ask Brent Manley about the event as he has been involved with the tournament for as long as Barry Rigal. Brent I see is a regular correspondent at ACBL bulletins

best regards

Charles
March 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
the budget is still high enough for laser jet printers used by the rest of the world …oh dear oh dear
Nov. 30, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After 6 boards voting for Bangladesh was an inspired choice……
Aug. 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why not “ I love the ABF”
Aug. 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not an unreasonable course of action taken. It was a clear instruction on entering the building that a specific action will be taken if the directive not followed. No doubt entering the secure area was of your own free will ? I see no reason why a similar model cannot be enforced by Bridge authorities if you wish to play at their event…..is carrying a mobile phone the same constitutional right to carrying a firearm ….for some in the bridge community it would seem so
Aug. 7, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In what otherwise must be close to a first ever ….. did all of how many that make up the ACBL Board of directors agree on something unanimously???….
April 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Reminding the world again that today is April 1st
April 1, 2017
Charles Page edited this comment April 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jeff

Thank you like everyone else returning to the well

Reading that you plan to come to Australia and New Zealand is wonderful and is your only visit to date to the Yeh Cup about 10 years ago?

It would be excellent if an Australian visit tied into the Gold Coast Congress which has established a reputation as one of the “world's best” amongst a number of influential Bridge commentators including Barry Rigal, Brent Manley and David Stern.

I did sit on your dinner table at the Yeh Cup not that I would expect you to remember as i was the treasurer of the event. A pity then that your schedule did not allow a longer stay

Just wondering what age will you start teaching your grandson what cards are all about !

Many thanks
March 31, 2017
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top