Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Brian Platnick
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At MPs or BAM, clearly penalty.

At IMPs, even more penalty.
Dec. 8, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for all the nice words. And a special thanks to whoever created this thread, I think it's the first time my name has ever been listed first.
Dec. 5, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
-640 for a push.

Once I made 3NT doubled AND redoubled, at the other table my opponents made 3nt redoubled. I was shocked this was a push since I played 3NT doubled AND redoubled while my opponents merely played 3NT redoubled..
Oct. 21, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes. In the 1991 world junior championships, both tables played 2Sxx making 2.

1S P 2S P
p Dbl Rdbl …

I held something like KQJ9 xxx Kxx xxx and passed.
Oct. 20, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you have a strong feeling whether 4C should be natural or a cuebid over 3D?
Oct. 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If your diamonds were KJxxx, you would be in the same situation, so rather than criticize the opening bid, I will answer the question:

Against sane opponents, I would never pass the double. I'll bid 3nt expecting to go down, but -50 or -100 beats -530.
Sept. 28, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You briefly mention giving suit preference in trumps. Do you normally give your students a few other basic situations where you suggest suit preference signals?
Sept. 17, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Larry,

What if responder passes, then doubles later? Does is fall under your general rule of takeout at the two-level or is it an exception?
July 15, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I blame the ten of diamonds for residing with E/W instead of N/S.
June 26, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dumping wouldn't hurt your score if you already did poorly against the team the would have qualified had you not dumped.

I never said the situation was likely, but it is certainly possible.
June 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This format definitely creates the possibility of throwing the last match to better one's overall chances.

Assuming you are playing the last round against a team that is on the bubble, and has done well against your main competition, your position could be improved by losing. This also assumes that the team that fails to qualify did well against your team and poorly against other relevant teams.
June 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To add to what Josh said. Leading low loses when the opponents spades are 3-3 with both the A and Q, giving them 3 stoppers, so low seems very risky.

Ax opposite Qxxx is 3 stoppers unless partner has the stiff 9 and you lead low.

Qx opposite Axxx is only 2 stoppers unless you lead the jack or ten.

The King can also win if partner has the stiff Q and the suit breaks 3-3 on layouts where they only need to knock out one of your aces for 9 tricks.

Many people are focusing on the fact that the opening leader has 2 outside aces, but it is unclear how many of the aces must be knocked out before declarer has 9 tricks, one or both.

I agree with Josh 100%. The King is clearly the correct lead on this hand. West erred by playing the Q. It is the kind of play good players sometimes make on BBO when they are on the phone, eating, yelling at their kids, etc. but would not make at the table.
June 10, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is a bit of a guess if partner is 6-4, but since I don't expect him to bid over 3nt with most 7-4 hands, I prefer 5C.
June 2, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The committee felt there was not much substance to the appeal but didn’t think an AWMW was warranted.”

The fact that the committee thought this appeal had little substance and even considered an AWMW seems ridiculous.
May 17, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The AC considered the possibility of assessing a procedural penalty against E/W for the failure to alert, but declined to issue one”

(1) what are the standards for the committee assigning a procedural penalty?

(2) if a procedural penalty is a possibility, does that imply that an appeal has merit even if it would otherwise be frivolous?

(3) is it acceptable to appeal just on the basis that your opponents should receive a procedural penalty?
May 17, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ish,

Congrats on a great win, you guys played great.

Have you ever had a real job? If you weren't a bridge pro, what career would you choose?
April 12, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In summary, about 42,000 results were pushes, and another roughly 4,000 had a difference of ten points, so no imp swing on 23% of all results. On the remaining boards the total swings were a little over 1,050,000 imps, an average of 5.25 imps per board. 54,000 or 27% of the results were double-digit swings, accounting for somewhat over 60% of the total imps.

What this means is that most of the time the results on four out of sixteen boards will determine which team does better on that set of boards


Henry,

That is quite a leap of (il)logic to make.
Jan. 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would bid 3D on this hand and never consider any other call.
Jan. 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like the idea of a 1-day BAM qualification with the top 32 teams playing a KO. Running a 0-5000 mini-Reisinger should keep the numbers reasonable.
Jan. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Brad,

Sounds like a great idea, but maybe 48 boards would be enough or it would be the slowest event in the history of bridge.
Jan. 5, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top