Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Brian Platnick
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Barry,

Given that the Granovetters book is almost 200 pages, I’m not sure why they call it the “obvious” shift.
Nov. 1, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tom Peters gives an excellent example. One could make the case that the U/I was a cause-in-fact of the bad result, but not a proximate cause. Just because there would never have been an opportunity to double 4S without the U/I doesn’t necessarily mean one deserves redress.

Another example: RHO bids Blackwood, then over his partner’s response, thinks for 3 minutes and bids 6NT. LHO bids 7NT and your partner doubles.

You lead a heart (dummy’s first bid suit) from: AKQ xxxx xxx xxx. They take the first (or last?) 13 tricks. What is the appropriate ruling?

PS. I was going to make a snarky remark to John Adams about his “you are done” comment, but since my example has nothing to do with Mis-information, I will save my snarkiness for a future John Adams Comment.
Oct. 7, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John,

No, you are not done.
Oct. 4, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I generally agree, except when east discarded on the second heart that should be enough to wake up South. Now had East discarded a diamond instead of a club …
Oct. 2, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard,

You began this discussion by saying that Pass was easy for you as that was your partnership agreement. Then you added that you would pass even without this agreement.

When several of us pointed out that your agreement was illogical, you have argued:
- passing is the disciplined action as it is your agreement
- passing is the correct action even without such an agreement
- passing may well be crazy, it may or may not make sense

So instead of the “I was just following orders” defense to your decision, and instead of vacillating between arguing that pass is correct and it may well be crazy, please answer the following question:

Absent a partnership agreement that passing is mandated, do you think passing is the winning bridge action?
Oct. 2, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I wrote earlier, it is a long time when partner responded to keycard.
Sept. 24, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not when your partner responded to Keycard
Sept. 24, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Since you are dummy, can you grab a cola for me,” coaxed Pepsi.
Sept. 23, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard

“In this context, pass is easy.”

It is easier to pull to 2C, then (hopefully) put down the dummy in 2D/H/S doubled, go get a cup of tea, come back and score -300 or -500 than it is to try to stop the 3rd overtrick against 1NTxx.
Sept. 22, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Partner should not be doubling because he is looking at the DAKQ.”

“… the likelihood he has the AKQ of diamonds is too remote to consider …”

Dave,

You seem to be the only one considering AKQ of diamonds as a possible holding for partner.


JD,

I like your facetious rules, but you should follow an actual rule:

“Never engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed man.”
Sept. 22, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Striking the Final Hammer Blow”

Good to know you are forbidden from making penalty doubles on Shabbos
Sept. 14, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Matt,

“. .. I could play outside of Israel, but (ironically) only if I was getting paid and it was part of a week-long tournament. (I was also to ask my partner, if he was Jewish, not to write.) The point of getting paid was that playing bridge is not in the spirit of Sabbath, so why do it? However, if you have a contract for the week and it will not be fulfilled if you don’t play on Shabbos …”

I have never heard that it was OK to work on Sabbath if it was part of week long contract. What if writing were a necessary element of the job?
Sept. 14, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit,

Congratulations on making the semifinals.
Sept. 9, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“But re the issue of disclosure, I have seen no solution that, in my opinion, does not damage the integrity of ‘screen procedure’.”


Sprung wrote:

“They should have a preprinted pad of possible things to say (as suggested in the BW many years ago when the issue was a language problem).

The numbers 0-37; the suit names and NT, forcing, GF, INV, Weak. The names of the common conventions they play, etc.

They could then point to the appropriate spot, and we would have a video record of the ‘conversation’.”
Sept. 6, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree. South had a difficult decision between 5♣ and 6♦.

North, however, bid way too much. 4NT was a horrible overbid.
Sept. 3, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Victor, I meant that 11 tricks are available on some layouts, but unlikely if east has 8 clubs and 2 hearts. But if East were 8-2, I think 11 tricks are still possible if he holds:

JT Qx J AKJxxxxx
Aug. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michal,

Of course it’s double-dummy analysis, that was the point of this sub thread. I don’t play much against bots, but do they play weak 2 and if so, in your experience would a bot pass in 1st seat with KQJTxx of hearts? Not that you would duck anyway, since 11 tricks are available with good breaks.
Aug. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michal, I really enjoy your bot hands, keep them coming.
Aug. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Heart Queen at trick 2 is enough, not the 7.
Aug. 30, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have played in USBF events against players who because of physical difficulties were unable to write and/or read written explanations. Making reasonable accommodations for those with disabilities or religious restrictions doesn't seem like much of a problem. The question is which accommodations are reasonable and which are unreasonable.

What isn't clear to me is the rationale for playing bridge on Sabbath in the first place, but being unable to write. My assumption (maybe incorrect) is that paying the entry fee would be a violation as would playing professionally.
Aug. 21, 2019
.

Bottom Home Top