Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Brad Theurer
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 17 18 19 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
true, I didn't say West *should* bid 3, but he might consider it - besides, you might have to bid to the 4-level anyway if the opps compete to 4, which might make if they have a little more shape than they had on this deal (diamonds 3-1, for example and if partner has the hand you suggest for East, hearts 4-2). Yes 4 of a red suit could go for -200 if they double, but they may not know to do so and even if they do, if they were making 10 tricks in clubs you may be booked for a poor score for passing out 4 anyway.
Dec. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
if just going to support diamonds with the East hand over 1, then I'd have bid 3 (normally played as a mixed diamond raise, 7-9 with 4+ trumps) and if S passes, West can still try 3.
Dec. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you everyone for your opinions and general comments. I've learned a few things from this experience (and this article). I am troubled/puzzled by the uncertainty as to whether an alert is required/recommended (?) in Open+ chart 6+ board matches for when a pair “has an agreement” that they will open 1NT with a small singleton. Brings up a few more “cans of worms”… in a pro/client partnership, the pro may open 1NT on a small singleton whereas the client may not. Also, if someone opens 1NT on a small singleton (only in open+ event of 6+ boards, of course), they can “always” say they do not have an agreement, just that they “felt like doing it this time” and the opponents will not know if they really do have an agreement (or how often that pair, or even individual, does it), especially if you don't regularly play against that pair/individual. So I'd think a pro can just open 1NT and say he doesn't alert it because they don't have an explicit agreement, and the opponents just have to accept that knowing that may or may not be true?
Nov. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For everyone's information, there were no alert of the 1NT opening, nor was there anything said at the beginning of the match about “we sometimes open 1NT with a small singleton”. The pro who opened 1NT said “I thought I was allowed to use my judgement (or use discretion?)”, so he did not seem to know the specifics about the allowance if the match is 6+ boards vs. it being matchpoints/BAM where the rounds are fewer than 6 boards. Some have suggested that I file a recorder form, which so far I have not done.
Nov. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Some of what goes into answering this depends on one's agreements about weak 2 bid style (and perhaps along with opening 1-bid style in general, i.e. how light can you be in 1st chair?). I think this hand is a pretty close decision for me (and I play “normal” style), but I voted for 1 since generally my range for weak 2-bids doesn't include 11HCP hands. But I wouldn't have a problem if someone says that this hand is downgrade-able due to the lack of shape, unsupported quacks, etc.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
in a GF auction I don't think it's crucial for opener to “limit his hand” with his rebid over 2; I think more often 2 should show 6+ hearts though I admit that is far from a universal view.
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree - too many have “matchpoint-itis” when it comes to resting in 3NT when there is significant potential for a minor suit slam - here partner doesn't need extra HCP, just a working minimum - heck, if North's KQ is changed to A, then a GRAND in clubs is not unreasonable. If North happens to have 4522 shape and a softish minimum he can sign off in 4NT and South, having tried for slam, can pass hearing of partner's lack of interest/fit. If 3NT was destined to make exactly 9 tricks and 4NT is too high, that would be rather unlucky.
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
still questionable… first - partner might simply bid more spades (3 or 4 depending on how good his hand is) instead of 4. If partner has 3 spades and you bid 4 over 4, he still doesn't know if you have 4 or 5 of them. If partner was interested in playing in spades he quite possibly would have simply bid them over 2.
Oct. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One has to figure out why partner chose 4 here (space consuming!) rather than other calls such as double, 3, 4, etc. - to me he MUST have a strong (4+ card) diamond fit, else he would have chosen some other action to describe a hand that doesn't have such a prime fit. Question then becomes whether you are worth a 5 bid (vs. 5), and should 5 be a club control, or just length, or just “an honor” (the Q, here). Me I'm pulling in a notch since partner did not open 2 and my heart holding of small doubleton is not ideal (stiff or 3 would be better).
Oct. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
but partner will not assume 3 spades when you bid 2 here, you can certainly have a hand with 4, or even 5 spades that was too weak to act directly over the 1 overcall. When I have a 5 card suit I'll bid that instead of a 3 card spade suit. Phil did not state whether this was matchpoints or IMPs but in this case I'd do the same 3 bid at either form of scoring, bidding what I really have instead of what I may or may not have.
Oct. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
question is would that hand for partner open 1 or strong 2? Might depend on how light one's 2 openers can be. Also the opponents bidding this way with 11 hearts between them seems unlikely, especially at favorable vulnerability.
Oct. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played against Beth many times here in the Washington DC area, she was always someone I knew would would be a formidable opponent. My condolences to Bill and Julie and others. Gone much too early… very sad.
Oct. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
most play 2 (and often other 2-level bids) as various raises of partner's major so much of the time 2 not available as a natural bid over the double.
Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was at the other table - what actually occurred is that Leo's hand only opened 3, it then went P-P-4, which was doubled (by the long clubs hand), thus only -500 at our table= to win the 7 IMPS. Nobody ran to diamonds.
Sept. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
this is a good (more direct?) link for teams/results:

http://db.worldbridge.org/Repository/tourn/wuhan.19/microSite/Participants.asp
Sept. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
for the most part I agree (especially since it's matchpoints so have to try for higher scoring partial), though the one downside of 2 is that partner might bid again and get you too high. I'd be more likely to pass 2 at imps since if partner can't do more than 2, game is unlikely.
Aug. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
obviously it depends on their lead style… LHO should lead the card that requests that partner unblock… or give count, or give attitude to help him decide what to lead next.
Aug. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
thinking of the late great Paul Harvey when I read that, Ray
Aug. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you everyone for your votes, thoughts/opinions/analysis. For the record, I was South. My partner and I had not (sufficiently) discussed what North's 3NT rebid promised/denied, but I felt strongly that partner would not bid 3NT with a void or singleton, so I felt the odds were sufficiently in my favor that the opponents would not run 5 club tricks at me and that “9 tricks are easier than 10”. For the most part, even though many here felt North (around 50%) or South (around 20%) were at fault, I was mostly in the 30% “nobody did anything terrible” camp and that we were largely unlucky that North's unstopped suit matched South's unstopped suit (AND that North didn't have 3 small clubs instead of 2), AND the clubs were 5-2, AND the 5 were with opening leader, AND LHO had refrained from overcalling 2 on AKQ9x, AND that clubs didn't block (as someone above said, if South had Txxx of clubs we wouldn't have had this poll/discussion).
Aug. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
even w/o such an agreement, with 6 spades and 4 clubs, one can judge whether to treat as a spade one-suiter or show clubs, depending on such factors as suit qualities, form of scoring, etc. With AKJTxx/Ax/A/Qxxx, I'd ignore that club “suit”, for example.
Aug. 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 17 18 19 20
.

Bottom Home Top