Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Benoit Lessard
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 283 284 285 286
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Being able to play 4Hx when your simply 55 plus being able to avoid 4Hx when your have extra shape is simply too important.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have bid 2 on r2 but now I bid 3
16 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The difference is an action that is right 80+% of the time will always be taken by good players and so there may not be any logical alternatives as per the laws. That does not mean you have not benefited from the UI.”

Its not a precise way to see this IMO. Lets say that experts who are facing the hand with no BIT, 97% of them X, they all know that X isnt totally safe and could backfire. Now the same hand with a BIT and now they know that doubling is now totally safe, its only the 3% that benefit from the hesitation not the 97%. If the action is clear cut enough to the point that pass is not considered a logical alternative very few benefit, if its not clear enough all the players are “handcuffed” or will face a potential rollback.

The law is fine in theory, but the laws in general are too complicated so it take too much experience to be a good director so the odds we hit a weakish director is too high.

IMO the post is a textbook case that should be in director exams.

Director need to understand that if a player bid 4 its quite likely that for this level of player pass is LA. If the player tell you X is evident you should ask did you consider bidding 4S ? and if he tell me “no ive got extra values not extra shape” than you can be pretty sure that few players of this caliber will consider passing. I often think director are too quick into going into polling without assessing the level of the players based on what happened at the table.
Dec. 11
Benoit Lessard edited this comment Dec. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
doesnt matter, if west can bid 4 isntead of doubling he could find pass instead of doubling.
Dec. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West has 6ctrl. Its ok to play 1m-3Nt as as strong NT but the hand should have a fair amount of soft values not prime values. Jumping to 3NT with Axx in a side suit facing a opening that is not precise is IMO always wrong.

If opener got the right/wrong singleton you could be missing a slam or going to down in 5m or just be in the wrong game.


Kxxx
x
QJxxxx
Ax

You partner open a strogn NT and you have this, you do stayman and opener bid 2 or 2 do you jump to 3Nt ?

Of course not because opener could have Axx(x) in and 6 is a much better contract than 3Nt. However if hes got KQJ than 5 or even 4 might be in danger.


So if you think about responder jump to 3Nt you need to have a hand that would be happy to play 3Nt even if opener got a distributionnal hand. Low in control high in soft values (at least when it come to the side suits).
Dec. 6
Benoit Lessard edited this comment Dec. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“We must believe in free will — we have no choice.” I.B Singer
Dec. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, did he say this because he was annoyed at the long hesitation or just angry at himself ?

What did the committed ruled about the comment is it AI or is the UI the more more important factor since it was before the comment ?

Its hard to make a sensible ruling if you dont settle the comment thing first.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here are the mistakes I see in this board

1- playing flannery (I couldnt resist)
2- bidding 7NT
3- hesitating after 7NT
4- Not doubling 7Nt especially after a long hesitation
5- commenting before the lead (Im not sure what was said exactly)
6- not calling the director before leading.
7- The way the director handle this board
8- AC explanation isnt that complete imo.

point 6,7 & 8 depend on what was said at 5.

So based on how many mistake ive seen I think I will be more careful when I think there is no LA to a bid or a lead.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Im not totally convinced by the arguments that 4 followed by 4Nt instead of 4Nt directly or 4-4Nt but by not bidding a later 5Nt automatically implies a void.

cuebidding 4 with a singleton A is also normal and when north X for the lead your hand has improved. Its something right to make a light gamble by jumping to 7S even if you cannot count 13 tricks and even if you might miss 7Nt.

Can west have

Kxx
KJxxx (remove the J maybe)
A
AQxx

With this hand I would think 7 is going to be at least close to 50% and im not eager to play 7Nt. Its the type of hand where because I play flannery and 1S promise 5 I could have an easier auction than others tables. I could see the others tables 1H-1S-2C-2D (art GF)-2S where its not always clear that 2S show 3. Or maybe its a Gaz auction.

Maybe I play too much imps and im not greedy enough to try to reach 7Nt when I think 7 is probably good enough.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I want to add that as opening leader I would always call the director before dummy come down if my LHO make a comment like this.

North know that his lead could be seen as using UI, so if he think east comment allow him to clear the UI because of override AI, its wise to call the director before dummy come down to avoid he said she said comments.
Dec. 3
Benoit Lessard edited this comment Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“your LHO tells you he might have had a serious accident and his partner might not have the diamond ace which he (LHO) most certainly does not.”

The comment part is not clear to me. Nobody confirmed exactly what was said and when it was said. If my LHO make a slow pass of 7Nt I would probably be angry too, angry at myself and angry about the slow pass in a position when its terrible and very amateur to break tempo.

If south didnt didnt break tempo would east make a comment ?
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The auction to 7S is an extremely powerful statement that we have 13 tricks.”

Disagree.

Ive seen players purposely lying about the trump queen a couple of times in the last years and it worked more often than not.

If east got AJTxxx of trumps and extra values its not crazy to say you have the Q. If your side is missing both KQ you can still reach a 76% slam. If opener is missing the trump Q and you reach 7 they often lead and if they don't you know wich side to finesse (not really the case here since you expect a lead in 7)

MP allow you to jump to a 50% 7. Im not even counting the times where you want a swing because your behind in the score.


Perhaps an easier way to look at it, lets say your playing in a club not behind screen but against the same opponents same auction south final pass is smooth and you “feel” that partner is somewhat uninterested at the hand how many would still lead ?
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well maybe south think so but he doesnt get the benefit of the doubt when he deoesnt bid in tempo.

Again I repeat that without east comment Its clear for me that south X ask for the unusual lead and no X north should lead a safe suit.

Another way to look at it if south X in tempo and west didnt make any comments do you think the lead is clear ?
Dec. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here its north who double 4D, so leading away from the KJ is not at all a normal lead, in fact leading away from the K is the unusual lead.I like lightner double all the way, either it goes down whatever you lead or make the unusual lead.

If south had a side ace other than he doesnt need to double to alert his partner with the king behind the ace they would need to make 12 tricks in 2 suits+A. However doubling with the A look automatic so a slow pass clearly suggest A and you cannot choose a lead since they are other logical alternative.

With the east comment it get complicated and I would need to know more about what happened.

Without screen.
http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/avoiding-lightnerpenalty-double-hitch-vs-slams-lightner-pass/
Dec. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If we double its too easy for responder to XX with extras or even with a minimum limit but with extra defensive prospect. Too often they will X us and -200 is a poor MP score.
Dec. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Would the form of the game matter?” of course. In Mp people save a lot more than in imps. In MP you need pure penatly double because
-1 doubled instead of not doubled can be a huge difference.

Assume imps… its another good example why double pass inversion (dpi) is better.

You keep X as dsip, showing extras value (allow partner to bid 4Nt or to pass or even bid 5D)
pass = im happy to defend.

You dont really care if pass is 100% forcing or not. Its quite rare you have juicy penalty double against sound opps so a pure penalty double is not that profitable compared to avoiding fu%^#ed up

When you bid 3NT and later your happy to “defend” 4 it can be because you have a penalty X or because you gambled on 3Nt and dont want to compete further.

Its north who is in a tough spot, he need to check the vul to guess if EAST could be sandbagging, try to think if you bid 3Nt aggro etc..

So technically pass= willing to defend and I expect north to X everytime hes got values but pass when he bid 3 with crap and think 3NT would have gone down.

Forget all above nonsense if your playing MP. at MP you need pure pen X. In MP a pen X is more important than a DSIP X.
Nov. 30
Benoit Lessard edited this comment Nov. 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“–Or at least ”not wrong“–”

If north got 3 and south 4 before he play a its a coin flip, after he play a the odds are clearly in favor of the finesse.
Nov. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
exactly. Thats why I dont care about the
Nov. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even if you have no clue about who has the 4th club its right to take the finesse.
Nov. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peter going down too often.
Nov. 28
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 283 284 285 286
.

Bottom Home Top