Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Barry Rigal
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 103 104 105 106
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
-2220. Partner has —/—/xxxx/xxxxxxx and my RHO has the other 13 minor cards. It may matter which way up they play it though…
3 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Which reminds me of the review of an opera singer whose name was Guido Nazzo.
“Guido Nazzo is Nazzo Guido.”

Se non vero…
April 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Balance first apologize later.
Maybe “Always balance if unbalanced” should be the mantra. And when you know what partner will lead if you pass and wont like it how can it be wrong? Note if partner was going to lead a major — aren't you happy you balanced?
April 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Anyone want to guess who was the declarer who claimed here?
:)
Down one seems right to me. Anyone who claims in this position clearly hasn't worked out the problems inherent in the deal. If he had he wouldn't have claimed.
April 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know what the max number of ‘likes’ for a post is, but consider it applied.
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Falsecarding to encourage with nothing in the suit is extremely dangerous. Imagine the same hand in dummy but Jxxxx of clubs. if partner wins the first club you don't want him to continue from QJ9xx when declarer has A10x. You might consider discouraging with Axx since now when partner continues declarer might well misguess. But then partner suspects declarer of having A10xx?
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Everyone who knows Tony and his team will be cheering for the man who disproved the theory that nice guys finish last. Today they finished first. What an achievement in your first nationals – and wasn't that hot off an NOT win/repeat in Oz?
Those lessons from David Stern must really be kicking in…
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Over 1NT we play 2// as natural diamonds (plus major) GF. 2 puppets 2 then 2M is (3-1)-(54) inv(+). 2NT invites, 3 is to play.


Our 1 response includes all GF hands with Diamonds and most minor hands but not both minors GF (via 2) or clubs GF (via 2).
1-2 is weak.
March 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I always feel playing a suit combination you haven't seen before is hard.
With an England International to my left I opened 1NT and played there to receive the lead of the 4. Diamonds were divided
(IIRC)

8 6


K J 5 4 —- 9 2


A Q 10 7 3


I played the eight from dummy and took the nine with the queen. RHO got in again to lead the two to the seven and jack and now back came a third round to let me run the suit.
March 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can I add another point: which of my hearts are really diamonds? And vice versa.
March 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I ticked the box about leads against no-trump because in my opinion more AI and UI is given at trick one by ‘honest’ players in this scenario than any other.
I remember against Richie Swartz in a Vanderbilt match where I led promptly against 1NT-3NT and he said something like ‘Hmmm looks like he has five – which I did. I wondered if I regularly gave the game away like this, and decided whenever I knew I was going to be on lead after the auction started with RHO bidding NT that I’d have my lead planned for between 5 and 10 seconds. You cant always do it but trust me it is worth trying so that partner doesn't get UI and declarer doesn't get AI.
March 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 as range ask
Balanced invite to 2NT/4NT
Invitation in either minor
Both minors GF

Over the 2 ask opener bids 2NT with a minimum and names the first suit he would reject. So with

AKxx
Qxx
AJxx
Qx


you'd bid 3 to reject a club invitation and switch the minors you'd bid 3.

Responder bids doubleton over the initial response with both minors.
March 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I haven't given a lot of thought to the ‘Costs a trick when you play the J from J52’ argument…but I wonder whether we also need to consider playing low from 952?
In the actual lie of the cards the nine exposes the position to declarer's Q8. And partner is much less likely to have QJ43 (when against a 2NT opening he would surely lead the queen) than KJ43 or K843?
March 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For those of you who don't know Jim…a fine player extremely nice guy and great company. My university partner for 2+ years now solid county player.

Jim in my opinion committed the minimum misplay. Two card ending, he had two cards left in the same suit. He was fourth to play on a suit they led, myself and dummy following. Not normally a challenging ending.

Jim told me he managed to lose three tricks in a suit of J109875 facing Q432 by leading low and not covering the six. But he did score the 4 when playing with me when declarer tackled Q982 facing K653 (in dummy!!) by leading the two and not covering the four, for me to show out. And yes you may ask why Jim didn't play the seven but he didn't. (EDIT AFTER COMMENT BELOW TO FIX 8/7 SORRY!!)
March 25
Barry Rigal edited this comment March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, having played regularly with J*m M*s*n I can tell you that he once did achieve an endplay but wasn't good enough to take the last two tricks with the ace-queen in hand when they led into it.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think the appeal was especially controversial.

The facts were fortunately not in dispute since there were cameras. Zia had Q8 in hand facing A1076 and after the opening lead against 3NT of the 4 in that suit he took by my count 15 seconds to play from dummy (there appeared to be conversation/byplay going on but that doesn't really affect the issue).

spots approx.

A1076/J84/AJ8/653

KJ943/1095/1074/J7 52/Q764/K62/10984

Q8/AK3/Q952/AKQ2

I timed the play to trick one now by third hand at taking 34 seconds; others may be more accurate but than me. I'm pretty good at mentally judging to a second or two…

Zia now had many choices in the play but 10 top tricks and an endplay for 11. He misread the position in this suit and I believe finished up with fewer than 10 tricks. (I'll correct this if necessary later).

Kevin Rosenberg in third seat had indicated some problems at trick one. As I saw it, he took the 2 out after 15 seconds and never changed his mind, but he put it back at the end of his hand while thinking, then maybe did that a second time). We all know he is a thoughtful and even and agonizing player. I'm sure Zia took that into account but he would never have taken fewer than 10 tricks if the tempo hadn't persuaded him otherwise.

A painful way to finish second but I saw the video and I understand why Zia appealed. I'd surely have done the same as him and even the smallest of adjustment would have taken him back in front.

I am fairly sure without the tempo break he would have achieved a better result on the board than he did and the margin was initially smaller than 1 MP at the time with a top 13.

I could have understood a ruling of no adjustment; but any adjustment would as it turns out surely have been enough to overturn the result.

(What really peeves me is that I was probably one of the only players in the room not to have a Stayman auction and STILL received the lead of Rusinow 9 promising the 10 but saying nothing about the Q. For maybe the first time in my life I guessed this particular suit by ducking to freeze it, finessed in diamonds and won the club return to play three more rounds of the suit. My RHO now erred by exiting in hearts rather than diamonds so I was back to 10 tricks. Had he played a diamond I guess I would have run the suit and squeezed my LHO down to two spades and two hearts for the endplay but frankly I'm not sure.)
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm definitely voting for other.

There are quite a few world class players who never won a world title and quite a few multiple world title winners who don't qualify as world class to me.
This may be more a question of semantics or subjective interpretation but I'd think of ‘world class’ as someone who is a ‘good’ world champion – or would perform well at that level. Without naming names which would be highly invidious – I see about 20 people in the platinum finals who meet that category. How many do others see?
March 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A fine writer great player and really nice guy.
Very sorry to hear this.
March 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play 2 is almost all invitational hands. or to play 2D.
2 is a re-transfer weak or GF 5+.
2 precisely 4-4 majors inv+ (not 4441)
1NT/2NT natural NF/GF
2 inv 4 or to play 3 (or some GF hands with clubs)

So 1 is 4-4+ in majors, (very rarely 3/5 majors in eg 3514). Opener bids 1NT/2C/2H/2S as appropriate. Responder can also have Inv+ 44(14)
March 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm normally big on hanging offenders.
But when I see the auction go 1NT-(2H)-2NT-3C-P with both players having remembered the system it will be the first.
I think I've seen 1NT-2C-2D-2NT-3C-P to reach the best spot…once.
March 18
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 103 104 105 106
.

Bottom Home Top