Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Barry Plotkin
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This comment has been marked as inappropriate by the moderator(s).
Aug. 28, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Because 5NT would be the GSF in clubs?
Aug. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I do not BELIEVE the results this got. Whatever happened to just bidding what is almost certain to make??? (6C)
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why? If it's permissible now to open it with a singleton, I would think it would be ok to show or uncover it. Then again, this is the ACBL we're talking about, so logic doesn't apply…
Aug. 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only way to deal with cheating is to expel ANY cheater for life. No exceptions and NO readmission.
Aug. 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is a joke. They should have been banned from the game for life, period.
July 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
LOL no one could tell it was joking? :)
June 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The wording was me joking around :).
June 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This was insane. My partner and I got to the baby 7NT. And not only is it a cold top at our club, but 92% in the ENTIRE COMMON GAME? Does no one know how to bid at a club game anymore?
May 28, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Five years is ridiculous. They should be banned from the game for life.
May 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Multi, and their weak 2's were 2-11. And that's just for starters–when they gave their prealert my partner started writing a defense, then I asked for their CC, which was NOT out on the table. When they took it out, I saw the Multi/wk 2's/transfer responses, and that's when I called the director.

I've always been told in the past when I've played MidChart that it's my responsibility to have the defense and offer it to the opps, NOT wait for them to ask.

And in any case this event was NOT MidCharted.
May 17, 2016
Barry Plotkin edited this comment May 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When in the name of God will the Bridge World join the 21st Century and have a digital edition?
May 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They offered us nothing. I spoke to another pair they played against on Friday, before we played them, and they also were offered nothing in the way of suggested defenses. And the pair had multiple conventions that were non-GCC.
May 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's what deliberately playing conventions you know to be against the event rules is.
May 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Look at John Gillespie's comment below.
May 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The point is it wasn't dealt with, at all. They were allowed to get away with it. If they didn't want to deal with it at that level, there are other ways to, such as a C/E complaint, as others have mentioned.
May 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jane, under ACBL rules the use of Mid-Chart MUST be included in tournament advertising. The only exception is

“The requirement for advertising does not extend to use in Flt A or higher brackets of KO”

Specifically KO, because of the longer match lengths, I'd imagine.

And I don't know that that one member actually knew–I was posting a theoretical, for reasons I stated earlier in this thread, asking “what if any is their responsibility to know?”
May 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, I was the player who called the TD. They were eventually told they couldn't use their Mid-Chart stuff, but they'd been using it for the previous five rounds. I personally think they should have been disqualified from the event, and I'm still shocked they were not, and allowed to keep their overall placing.

I'm phrasing it like this at the suggestion of my partner, who is definitely the diplomat in our partnership :). He suggested not calling them out by name, at least at first.
May 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also, in Mid or Super-Chart events here in ACBL land, when these methods ARE allowed, it is the pair's obligation to provide the ACBL suggested defense booklet. This pair did not even do that. So even if the methods WERE legal in the event–which they were NOT–the pair still would have not been living up to their obligations.
May 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Everyone in an event, whatever the rules are, should be playing by the same rules. This pair/team was not.

Whether Multi and other things they were playing SHOULD be allowed in the top bracket of an open Round-Robin Swiss is a totally different argument. For this event, they were not allowed. And a pair of this pair's level of experience had to, or SHOULD HAVE, known that, and played the methods anyway.
May 16, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top