Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Barry Plotkin
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It was more like I was looking for confirmation of the fact that I screwed up, and I knew I screwed up almost as soon as the hand ended.

I bid 5H over 4H. Partner then bid 5S, and THAT I passed. So it didn't affect the score, but my action was wrong.
May 9, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even the BridgeBaron bots are better than GIB.
April 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That would have to be a separate Flight A for them to legally allow Mid-Chart, no?
April 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Get rid of the books and make it GCC. Period.
April 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What would you say to those of us who are disheartened by ACBL's refusal to open up the convention charts–we fall further and further behind the world every day. Why should gadgets such as Multi 2D not be GCC-legal when they are almost everywhere else in the world? I don't think American bridge players are any less capable than, say UK bridge layers, who somehow manage to handle it…
March 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many moons ago, I had a partner who complained I always played all the hands. One day, we were playing in a regional Flight B Swiss, and she played the first board of the first match. As I put the dummy down, she said to me “I guess you're letting me play some hands today.” After that, over the next 55 boards, I played 30 of them… and she played none. She couldn't get too angry, because we wound up third overall, but she never let me live it down. :-)
March 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think it SHOULD be–you could have zero, and partner could have a scattered 16. Admittedly, I think the majority of the time partner is going to put a red card on the table, but I don't think it's a FP situation here.
March 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wow. I don't think being condescending towards someone with a legitmate issue is helpful.
March 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So Multi is still stuck in the “6-board or longer segment” corner? Thanks for keeping your heads in the sand. This game must either progress or die.
Feb. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why should it matter if your partner shows up in a wheelchair, or what they look like?
Jan. 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wow–what is with the implication by a number of people here that we must have had a secret, nerfarious agreement? We've been playing this stuff for two years. This is the first time either of us have ever done something like this.
Jan. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Indeed we did NOT have an agreement 1D could be less than 10 HCP in 3rd–partner was shocked when dummy hit.
Jan. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I honestly did not think this would be judged an illegal psych–and I didn't think it was a psych in 3rd seat at favorable.
Jan. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Then why vote? You saw I was looking for what people thought it was UNDER THE RULES, not what you feel they should be.
Jan. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Did they ever get back to you? This is very weird, considering they just came out with Bridge Baron 27 a month ago…
Jan. 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's exactly the issue–it's an iOS 10 imcompatibility. I had been running iOS 8.4.1, and got forced to upgrade to 10.2 when I restored by iPhone 6 Plus. They've known about this for SIX MONTHS. The iPad and iPhone versions are the same–it's a universal app.
Jan. 17, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Passing with this shape would deny a maximum 14-15 HCP, which you have.
Jan. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This comment has been marked as inappropriate by the moderator(s).
Jan. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Exactly. If East had passed I'd have rebid 2S to show 4+H and 5+S
Jan. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, the 1H bidder can't hold that distribution, he would have opened 1D (one-suiter in ONE of the minors, or 4+ diamonds and a 5+ major)

A balanced invitational hand with fewer than 5 clubs would go through a forcing NT. That's the one modification my pd and I have made–Rexford has 1NT as semi-forcing so opener can open the balanced 11 counts with a 4CM. We just pass those hands so we can afford to play 1NT as forcing. Makes life easier.
Jan. 15, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top