Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Barry Buehler
1 2 3 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A trues reverse says that the second suit is shorter than the first.
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The upshot: Does Bridgewinners give an award for starting the longest thread about the most undebatable question ?? BTW the director admitted her error after phoning ACBL for confirmation, but did not change the scores.
Sept. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The other half of the room gains when a revoke is not noticed. There simply must be a penalty to achieve balance.” - John Adams

Patrick Henry agrees: “Give me a trick or give me death.”
Aug. 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No. In fact one invited the other to some sort of game.
Aug. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It was the first time it happened. There was no agreement. It was just a “dumb” bid by partner. He thought the bid implied 5 hearts. I thought it showed clubs and chanced 3NT. I think there should be no penalty. I did summon the director when, after the hand had been played, one opponent grumbled. His partner sent the director away.

Do you folks agree with no penalty?
June 15
Barry Buehler edited this comment June 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ACBL USA
June 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It was the first time it happened. There was no agreement. It was just a “dumb” bid by partner. He thought the bid implied 5 hearts. I thought it showed clubs and chanced 3NT. I think there should be no penalty. I did summon the director when, after the hand had been played, one opponent grumbled. His partner sent the director away. Dumb mistakes are just good or bad luck for opps. Would they call the director if they got a top? (one of them made an error which cost them a top).

Do you folks agree with no penalty?

p.s. right or wrong, this was the actual bidding.

p.p.s. I abstained because it seems as though in earlier post, the early responders, tend to agree with the first votes. Later voters often completely turn thing around. - this might be a mis-perception on my part.
June 14
Barry Buehler edited this comment June 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was hoping my pard would bid a 4 card major, which might “rightside” the contract. (we also do not do checkback)
April 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I guess what I am asking is: If I sat down with someone I got at the partnership desk and said “I play 2/1, pretty standard with no gadgets (Walsh etc).” What would be your bid.
April 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What I meant was: north (that was me) and south saw two pass cards fro east & west. The auction was over. I was glad that we were not doubled (until E/W disagreed). I think the director should look at what happened at other tables and then use his/her judgement to make a ruling - but I am not a director, so I will not judge.

It was east then p, p, p.
Feb. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Anyone who would like to sue me for posting in the wrong place, please contact my lawyers Dewey, Cheetham, and Howe at Car Talk Plaza.
April 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I confess !!
Looking at the poll responses, a light negative double is clearly off the wall. At the time (and maybe even now) my addled, inexpert mind reasoned that it is not. I do ask that you please help me and look at the likely final contracts after a negative double for the following scenarios:

1. North opened light and west passes the double.
2. North opened light and west bids 3 clubs/diamonds.
3. North has a full opener and west passes the double.
4. North has a full opener and west bids 3 clubs/diamond.

For each scenario above, analyze what happens if:
a - north has 4 spades,
b - north does not have 4 spades,

What actually happened was that 2 spades was a top. 11 other pairs were in hearts. I'd rather be lucky than sane.
After this, I still hope BW will allow me to keep my account.

p.s. If IMPs instead of matchpoints, HEARTS.

Now, do I have the courage to click on “ADD COMMENT?”…………………. I guess so.
Feb. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I realize that, but I am not sure that holds given the added possibilities that the king is doubleton or singleton. Accoring to previous answers this adds about 10% on top of the king being in the tripleton.
Feb. 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry for the ambiguity. No, you cannot afford to lose a trick in the suit and you must be able to discard another loser using that suit. A successful finesse would allow that (trumps aplenty).

As an aside, suppose you can only get back to dummy twice (in this case, we had the KQ dblton in trump (ace in hand). In this case, even if trump are 4/3, the K must be in the hand that has three or the K must be stiff or doubleton. Finesse or ruff it out in this revised case ???
Feb. 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like to play that 2 shows 4-card support and game interest opposite a full opener. Sometimes, I would cheat with a 3-card holding and an unusual(positive) hand. (if not very rare, should be added to the alert).
Dec. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lower case denies.
Oct. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Reread the poll question. Not just HCP……….patterning out, figuring losers, KCBW, cue bidding should get you where you need to go.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where is partner's opening count? I will soon find out.
June 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's why the “other” answer.
Dec. 2, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Watching this thread leads me to the following:

- There is often ambiguity as to what is right in these situations.

- I could buy into a system where in all non-NABC championship events, the partner of the non-alerter is simply asked “What would you have bid if partner had alerted.” The answer would be assumed honest (it would be in almost all cases). He/she is taken at their word. Quick and clean.

- The director would note which pair was guilty of the infraction. If there is a second occurrence, the pair would be penalized. (just as with psych bids).

- If the occasionally unethical player gains some matchpoints (and lower self esteem) so be it. In truth, they are probably not good enough to finish in the money anyway.

- This would probably lead to the correct decision at least as often as the director's decision (note the diversity of opinion in this thread).

- Am I naive in my belief that most players would answer honestly? My experience leads me to believe the answer is yes. I can think of a few players who might not, but they are jerks anyway and everyone knows who/what they are.
Dec. 2, 2014
1 2 3 4
.

Bottom Home Top