Join Bridge Winners
You be the judge, jury, and executioner!
(Page of 3)

West
J
AJ9876
AK73
AK
W
N
E
S
P
1
1
3
4
P
?

 

Matchpoints.

Sitting down against a strong club pair, you pick up a moose in third seat.  Right away you have a tough decision:  what to bid over an artificial 1D opener.  With a stiff spade, double is a terrible idea.  At IMPs I would have tried 4H, but playing matchpoints I decided to try 1H and see what developed.

The auction comes back to you at the 4 level.  What now?

West
J
AJ9876
AK73
AK
W
N
E
S
P
1
1
3
4
P
?

There are too many points at this table!

A vulnerable 2nd seat opener on my right, a red-on-white preempt on my left, and partner found a call.  I decided to take the plus score.  Maybe partner has queen-fifth of hearts and out, and was suggesting a sacrifice.  With the wild bidding, I don't expect suits to be breaking well for me.    I passed 4H.

 

What would you have bid?  Was passing a reasonable call, a bad call, or so bad it's not bridge?

 

Decide before moving on...

The full hand:

 

West
J
AJ9876
AK73
AK
North
Q1085432
10
J852
J
East
A96
KQ532
1096
52
South
K7
4
Q4
Q10987643
W
N
E
S
P
1
1
3
4
P
P
P
D
4 West
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

South psyched the 1D opener. The ACBL doesn't allow a psyche of an artifical opening. The director was called between rounds, and at least two directors reviewed the hand. The ruling came down as follows:

Table result stands for both pairs. North-South were assigned a procedural penalty of 1/4 board, and given a lecture on ACBL regulations regarding artifical openers. East-West were given no adjustment, because West's failure to make a slam try broke the causal link between the infraction and any damage done.

 

Do you agree with the ruling? If not, what is an appropriate score assignment for each pair?

 

54 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top