Join Bridge Winners
What would be your ruling?

IMPs, regional KO, top bracket. You have almost 11,000 points and you are the lowest ranked team. N is clearly a better player than South.

This is the auction and the hands: 

North
AKJ10xxx
xx
Ax
Ax
South
Kxxx
Kx
J1098743
W
N
E
S
1
1NT
P
2NT
P
3
P
4
P
4
P
5
P
P
P

2NT was alerted, EW did not ask until the end of the auction. At the end of the auction E asks about the alert, when 2NT is explained as transfer to diamonds. NS card is marked system on, and 2NT=transfer to diamonds. 3 is marked as GF minors.

North made clear and long hesitation on the 3, 4 and the last pass.

South was "slamming" the club bids on the table, not like they bid previously on any other board. It was clear that S made a mistake, and meant clubs.

5 makes without any particularly bad plays from defense (or actually unless declarer goes very wrong). EW called the director - the BITs and the above explanations were not disputed. S explained she thought that their regular system does not apply here.

Please comment on the rationale for the ruling. 

:)Yu

Contract and result stand
Adjust to playing some number of diamonds (4,5...) down many.
Adjust to 6 -1
Adjust to something else
Other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
118 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top