Join Bridge Winners
What should director rule?

Club matchpoint game.  EW are Flight C players.  Feel free to make judgments about the NS pair based upon the auction choices made; however, NS are considerably more experienced than are EW.

West
K865
74
J9643
K5
North
74
AK
AQ10
AQJ983
East
QJ109
Q932
K8
762
South
A32
J10865
752
104
W
N
E
S
P
P
2
P
2
P
3NT
P
3
D

2 was artificial, showing one ace or two kings.  NS are not playing Kokish.  Wisely or unwisely, North chose to rebid 3NT.  South bid 3.  Opponents point out that 3 is insufficient and South immediately replaces 3 with 4.  North knows that 3 over 2NT would be a transfer to hearts; NS have no partnership agreement about what 4 would mean over 3NT.  Of course, North can tell, from the immediacy of South's correction to 4, what South thinks that 4 means.  North suggests to the opponents that they consider calling the director.  EW accept that invitation.

When the director arrives, North explains the situation, including the absence of partnership agreement about the meaning of 4 over a 3NT rebid.

What should the director rule?

51 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top