Join Bridge Winners
What does partner have?

Flight 2 KO Semifinal round.  We are down 9 IMPS after the first half.  You're playing with your favorite partner against a pair of good players (and partners from time to time).  Everyone knows each other very well. You are West,  Vul vs NV.   You deal and the bidding proceeds:

West
AK965432
1082
Q9
W
N
E
S
4
P
4NT
5
6
P
6
P
P
7
X
P
?

You agreed before the event that preempts would be tightly disciplined in second seat, mostly disciplined in first seat (rule 2-3-4).  Usually not 2 Aces, nor 2 quick tricks outside the trump suit.  

5N by responder in this auction would be Grand Slam Force.  You have no agreement to the meaning of 5 by responder. New suits would be forcing.

4N is 1430.  

Over a 5 or 5 intervention, your agreed approach is:

Double = 0, Pass = 3, 5 = 1/4, 5 = 2 w/o Q, 5N=2 With Q. 6 bids show 2 keys with a void in the strain bid.  

So you bid 6.  

When 7 Doubled comes around to you you have time to think. Is partner's double a command to pass? Would a pass be forcing showing no wasted values? Unfortunately with all you have discussed over the years you haven't clarified  this sequence... Does partner's Double mean stop thinking?

Partner did choose to bid 4N and not 6 directly.  You are left to decide whether bidding 7 or passing is right. That's NOT the question under consideration here.  Instead, given partner's 4N then 6 bids, which among the following hands is partner MOST LIKELY to hold? (What inferences do you attach to the 4N bid?)

 

Qx Axxx Kx AKxxx
xxx AKxx AQx AKx
Q10x KQxx - AK10xxx
Qxx Axxx KQ AK10x
Qxx Axxx xx AKJx
xxxx Axxx KQxx A

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
18 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top