Join Bridge Winners
Taking Advantage of a Revoke

West
106
Q109532
AQ4
A5
North
J97532
74
109
1043
East
Q84
K86
8732
982
South
AK
AJ
KJ65
KQJ76
W
N
E
S
2
P
2
P
2NT
P
3
P
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT South
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

This is a hand from a recent 20 VP-scale "even chance" game (pairs ranked in order of masterpoints, and the highest pair makes a team with the lowest pair, and so on until the middle two pairs) played in Fukuoka, Japan.  I was South, playing with a beginner-level partner, as well as lowish-level opponents.  We had agreed to play Stayman, Jacoby, and Texas after both 1NT and 2NT opening bids, as well as 2S as a weak minor sign-off relay after 1NT.  When partner bid an undiscussed 3 after 2-2-2NT, I had to take a guess what he meant it as.  I thought it was probably natural, so I bid 3NT, which partner did not correct to 4.  Though the poll isn't really about this, was I justified/playing by the book in bidding 3NT here?

 

West of course led a heart (I believe it was 4th best, not the 10), I played small from dummy, and East played the...Q?!  East realized her mistake immediately, the director was called, and I was informed that the Q would become a penalty card.  Play continued with East now playing the K on trick 1, and me winning the A.  I drove out the A with my K, and director then informed me that I could either instruct West to play a spade or to not play a spade (or neither, I think).  I had West play a spade; she chose the 6, dummy inserting the 9, East covering with the Q (oops).  This led to me making 12 tricks when East discarded the Q at the end.

 

West then asked why declarer should have the right to tell her to play the suit that the revoker has shown.  I guess I can see some situations where this makes sense, for example, when the revoke card has specifically discouraged that suit.  But in this case, making declarer play dummy's 6-card suit, which she would never do otherwise, seems a rather harsh punishment.

 

Anyway, my main question is: do you take full advantage of the laws to benefit your side when the opposition has revoked?  Would you be more forgiving with lower level opponents?  I did the best I could with the poll options; sorry if your answer doesn't fit neatly into one of the choices.

I have no qualms in taking advantage of revoke/penalty card rules.
I often let such things slide.
It depends on the opponents.
Other (please explain)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
49 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top