Join Bridge Winners
Ruling, please!

West
Q6
97
KJ874
J754
North
7
KJ52
A653
K1083
East
10842
10864
2
AQ96
South
AKJ953
AQ3
Q109
2
W
N
E
S
P
P
1
P
2
P
3
P
4
P
P
P
D
4 South
NS: 0 EW: 0

After North bid 2, East asked "Natural bid?" and was told it was natural, which was actually North's intent. West led the 9 and North looked at his convention card and found that he was actually playing Drury. East called the director, who told them to play the hand and call him back if they had a problem. South made five (win the heart, play the ace, king, jack of trump and then four hearts, discarding a club). East called back and said that if he had been alerted that 2 was Drury he would have doubled for the lead. With a club lead declarer is much less likely to make five.

This is a club matchpoint game. East has about 3000 points, North about 600 and South less than 100.

Your ruling? (I'm interested in comments, even if you think it's a close call.)

Result stands.
Four spades making only four
Other (please comment)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
44 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top