Join Bridge Winners
Ruling

West
Q93
AQJ
K9
Q10964
North
J105
864
Q10
AKJ32
East
A84
K9532
65432
South
K762
107
AJ87
875
W
N
E
S
P
P
1
2
P
2
P
P
P
D
2 South
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

North & South were good players but not a regular partnership. They had agreed to play Michaels Cue bids. The competition was Matchpoint Pairs.

1=2+

2: North intended this bid as natural. South alerted 2 as Michaels and bid his better Major.

Before the opening lead was made, North explained that his 2 bid was meant to be natural. The Director was called and ruled that East could withdraw his final pass and make a bid if he so wished. East declined to bid.

The Director was recalled after the hand had been played and ruled that the result stood (+100 to EW when EW can make +650 on best declarer play). He ruled that South's explanation of the 2 bid was correct according to the system and that North had misbid his hand.

Was the ruling correct?

66 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top