Join Bridge Winners
Martel and Meyers Elected to ACBL Hall of Fame

Image Image

Ahearty congratulations from everyone at Bridge Winners to Chip Martel and Jill Meyers, who have been elected to the ACBL Hall of Fame.

Chip is a WBF World Grand Master with three Bermuda Bowl wins, one Rosenblum, and a win in the World Open Pairs. He has won the Vanderbilt five times, the Spingold twice, and the Reisinger four times. He has 18 other NABC titles, including the Von Zedtwitz LM Pairs.

Jill is also a WBF World Grand Master and spent many years as the WBF's highest-rankedwomen's player. She has won the Venice Cup four times and has also won the McConnell Cup and the World Women's Pairs. She has distinguished herself in open events as well, winning the Blue Ribbon Pairs, the GNT Championship Flight, and the Nail Life Master Pairs (twice).

The other nominees this year were Peter Boyd, Bart Bramley, Lynn Deas, Beth Palmer, Howard Weinstein, and Eddie Wold. A candidate needs to receive a majority of votes to be elected to the HOF. The electorate for the HOF includes all living HOF members, all ACBL Grand Life Masters and WBF World Grand Masters, up to ten jounalists selected by the IBPA Executive Committee, and anyone winning (or placing second in a premier event) at least five ACBL+ or WBF events.You can find out more about the details and operations of the ACBL Hall of Fame Committee here.

Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top