Join Bridge Winners
Late alert

West
QJ98
AKx
109xx
xx
North
A10xx
Jx
x
AKQJ10x
East
xxx
Qxxxx
Axxx
x
South
Kx
10xx
KQJx
xxxx
W
N
E
S
1
P
1NT
P
2
P
2
P
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT South
NS: 0 EW: 0

1C was Precision (16+) and the 1NT response showed 8-13. 1C was alerted after east passed, but before south bid 1NT. The Director was not called initially and East then chose not to change his call.

2C was Stayman and 2D showed 8-10 with no major.

West led the SQ, after which declarer made nine tricks.

Following the conclusion of play, east stated that if the 1C opening had been alerted in timely fashion, he would have overcalled 1H, which could show a very weak hand over a strong club. East also stated that a 1H overcall with the actual hand did not meet EW's standards for intervention over a natural 1C opening. East contended that if they overcalled following the the alert, this would let the table know that he held a very weak hand, which would be unauthorized information for his partner.

The director was called to the table by south and made no adjustment.

Should the score have been adjusted? If so, to what?

 

 

Result stands
Adjustment - to what?

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
49 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top