Join Bridge Winners
Kamil wins 2012 Lazard Sportsman of the Year Award

Michael Kamil Michael Kamil has won the 2012 Sidney H. Lazard Jr. Sportsman of the Year Award. This prestigious award was established by Sidney Lazard Sr., who described the award as follows in a recent Bridge World interview:

”... Sidney Jr. died of cancer at the age of 41. He was the nicest guy in the whole world, and he was a great sportsman. By “sportsman,” I mean someone who plays hard but fair and holds no grudges. I designed the Sportsmanship Award as a way to honor his memory by recognizing top bridge players who emulate the ideal that I saw in my son, and to encourage all players to aspire to that standard.”

When we contacted Michael about the award, he wrote:

“I’m extremely honored to receive an award named for Sidney Lazard, Jr. While I didn’t have the chance to meet him, I am lucky enough to know his father, the legendary Sidney Lazard, Sr. I have always aspired to those ideals set forth in his statement: fair play, sportsmanship, and when the game ends, no anger or resentment.

In my younger days I was an avid student of bridge history. I’d read of many of his past exploits. He was always one of my heroes. I then had the great fortune to play on a team with Sidney, Sr. about 15 years ago and I’ve never forgotten the experience. To my mind he has always epitomized the pure combination of fierce competitor and exemplary sportsman. I’m certain his son followed in his father’s footsteps. Just to be considered for this award is rather humbling. To win is beyond words.”

From all of us at Bridge Winners: congratulations, Michael!  It couldn't go to a more deserving person.

Previous winners:

2011 Betty Ann Kennedy

2010 Roy Welland

2009 Peter Boyd

2008 Giorgio Duboin

2007 Seymon Deutsch

2006 Ralph Cohen

2005 Nick Nickell

2004 Lynn Deas

2003 Larry Cohen

2002 Rose Meltzer

2001 Paul Soloway

Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top