Join Bridge Winners
Is this an exception to a rule

On the first board of a friendly team match that includes a couple of long-time pros, you face this problem.

South
AJ10843
AQ7
K1076
W
N
E
S
P
1
P
1
P
2
P
2
P
?

Your general style here is to raise the 1 response freely with 3-card support and either an unbalanced hand or a good spade holding when you are minimum.  Now you have a problem.  What should South do here, or what should he have done earlier?

Bid 3 at his 2nd turn, this hand isn't strong enough for hearts-clubs-hearts
Bid 2 at his 2nd turn, this hand isn't strong enough for hearts-clubs-hearts or for 3
Bid 3 now, the 2 bid committed you to bidding hearts one more time
Bid 3 now, you would be allowed to pass 2 with some hands but not this one
Pass, you are not committed to bidding 3 after this particular rebid
Bid 2NT now, you must bid again
Other (pease explain)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
43 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top