Join Bridge Winners
How would you rule?

The hand was played with screen, North and East sat on its same side.

North
7
K74
A9876
J1096
W
N
E
S
P
1
P
1NT
P
P
2
X
P
P
P

1N was semiforcing, thus South's pass showed weak balanced hand, probably 5-(332)

2 was alerted by East. North did not ask its meaning, East did not tell it, neither immediately nor later.

North doubled in the belief that 2 was 2-suiter (and probably not good enough for an immediate call), suggested by the alert. On a direct cuebid N-S plays that a double can penalize them in at least on of their promised suit and asks partner to double if he can. He guessed that it is a similar situation, and E-W intended to play on level 3 in another suit and he thought he needed some help from partner to double their 3.

At the end it turned out that West had a good (cca. 5-loser) hand with good 6-carder spade suit and the contract was made (it always makes).

North calls the director and says that if he had known that West had spades he would not have doubled.

How would you rule and why?

If you are a qualified director then please mention that fact too. Thank you.

Table result (2X made) stands
Result (-670) stands for N-S, but +110 for E-W
2 made (double cancelled)
60% for N-S, 40 for E-W
Other (please tell in comment)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
93 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top